WorldCat Identities

Astrup, Anne-Sophie

Overview
Works: 12 works in 32 publications in 1 language and 366 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  Pictorial works  Records and correspondence  History 
Roles: Translator, Author
Classifications: B3318.E88, 193
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Anne-Sophie Astrup
Nietzsche's philosophy of the eternal recurrence of the same by Karl Löwith( Book )

5 editions published between 1991 and 1998 in French and held by 87 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Criticizing the tendency to treat Nietzsche as a literary figure or as a vitalist in the tradition of Bergson, Simmel, and Klages, Lowith situates Nietzsche squarely within the history of Western philosophy. He takes issue with the position of Jaspers that Nietzsche is best read as a rejection of all philosophical certainties and challenges Heidegger's view that Nietzsche was the last metaphysician of the West. For Lowith, the centerpiece of Nietzsche's thought is the doctrine of eternal recurrence, a notion which Lowith, unlike Heidegger, deems incompatible with the will to power. His careful examination of Nietzsche's cosmological theory of the infinite repetition of a finite number of states of the world suggests the paradoxical consequences this theory implies for human freedom. How is it possible to will the eternal recurrence of each moment of one's life, if both this decision and the states of affairs governed by it appear to be predestined? Lowith's book, one of the most important, if seldom acknowledged, sources for recent Anglophone Nietzsche studies, remains a central text for all concerned with understanding the philosopher's work
Hannah Arendt/Heinrich Blücher : Briefe 1936-1968 by Hannah Arendt( Book )

3 editions published in 1999 in French and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nouveaux poèmes by Heinrich Heine( Book )

4 editions published in 1998 in French and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Parus en 1844, ces poèmes nous font découvrir un Heine au sommet de sa carrière artistique et intellectuelle
Oeuvres philosophiques complètes by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche( Book )

1 edition published in 1997 in French and held by 42 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Le concept d'amour chez Augustin : essai d'interprétation philosophique by Hannah Arendt( Book )

5 editions published between 1991 and 2000 in French and held by 39 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Au point de départ pour Arendt, comme pour Augustin, il y a une expansivité, le désir. "Structure fondamentale de l'étant", le désir est la forme d'un appétit qui installe le désirant dans la solitude, le dispose à toutes les détresses et à toutes les audaces
Theological tractates by Erik Peterson( Book )

3 editions published in 2007 in French and held by 28 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The essays in "Theological Tractates" were published between 1925 and 1937, during which time Erik Peterson converted from Protestantism to Roman Catholicism. They deal with a range of theological topics{u2014}from the thought of Protestant theologian Karl Barth, to liturgy, the Church in the New Testament, Christianity and Judaism, angels, martyrdom, and mysticism. Among them is Peterson's landmark essay on ancient "political theology," "Monotheism as a Political Problem," which shows how ancient writers{u2014}pagans, Jews, and Christians{u2014}justified earthly monarchy by its parallel with the monotheistic belief in one divinity in heaven. Peterson asserted that such a political theology was incompatible with Christianity, a thesis that became a reference point for modern political theology
Ingeborg Bachmann by Ingeborg Bachmann( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in French and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fragments posthumes, été 1882 - printemps 1884 by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche( Book )

4 editions published in 1997 in French and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oeuvres philosophiques complètes / été 1882 - printemps 1884 / trad. de l'allemand par Anne-Sophie Astrup et Marc de Launay by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche( Book )

2 editions published in 1997 in French and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ingeborg Bachmann by Anne-Sophie Astrup( Book )

1 edition published in 1987 in French and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Penser l'évènement : Recueil d'articles politiques traduits par ... by Hannah Arendt( Book )

1 edition published in 1989 in French and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Heine voyageur( Book )

1 edition published in 1998 in French and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.82 (from 0.68 for Nietzsche' ... to 0.96 for Oeuvres ph ...)

Languages
French (32)