WorldCat Identities

D'Amato, Barbara

Overview
Works: 48 works in 170 publications in 6 languages and 14,018 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Suspense fiction  Political fiction  Biography  Trials, litigation, etc  Case studies  Short stories 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PS3554.A4674, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Barbara D'Amato
Hard evidence : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

13 editions published between 1997 and 2000 in English and Undetermined and held by 978 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sleuth and reporter Cat Marsala of Chicago discovers that a soup bone she bought at a store is part of a human leg. She goes undercover as a catering consultant at the store and solves a murder
White male infant by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

10 editions published between 2002 and 2009 in English and French and held by 975 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dooley McSweeny and his wife discover their beloved little boy, adopted from Russia six years earlier, did not come from Russia, and they embark on a dangerous, politically sensitive search for their child's true identity
Hard road : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

6 editions published between 2001 and 2007 in English and held by 968 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Cat Marsala and her six-year-old nephew run for their lives when they are the only witnesses to a murder during a big Oz festival in Chicago's Grant Park
Authorized personnel only by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

12 editions published between 2000 and 2010 in English and French and held by 944 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

For Chicago cop Suze Figueroa, home is a sanctuary, a quiet refuge from the crime, corruption, and tragedy she encounters everyday on the job. The creaky old Victorian house she shares with her little boy, her invalid sister, and her sister's family seems far removed from the threats and dangers of the mean city streets. . . or so she believes. The truth is far more terrifying, for, unknown to Suze, a stranger has moved into the house: an intruder who waits in the attic by day and prowls her home at night, spying on both the unsuspecting adults and the defenseless children. While Suze spends her work day tracking down an elusive serial killer, she has no idea that a much more personal danger lives under her own roof, eating her food, handling her gun, and watching her loved ones
Death of a thousand cuts by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

8 editions published between 2004 and 2007 in English and held by 902 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A gala reunion of the former staff and residents of a pioneering autistic children's school turns violent when the institution's revered founder, Dr. Jack Schermerhorn, is found tortured to death
Help me please by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

9 editions published between 1999 and 2005 in English and French and held by 837 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A child of a senator is kidnaped in Chicago and appears live on the World Wide Web, locked in a room, clock ticking, facing starvation unless a man is released from prison. Detective Polly Kelly goes after the kidnapers
Hard bargain : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

4 editions published between 1997 and 1999 in English and held by 792 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In Chicago, reporter Cat Marsala investigates the killing of a wife-abuser by a policewoman. The case is special because the abuser was a respected police officer, and policewoman and wife are sisters
Good cop, bad cop by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

10 editions published between 1998 and 2012 in English and French and held by 782 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Out of jealousy a policeman attempts to ruin the career of his brother, a more successful policeman. Officer Aldo Bertolucci hopes to sink Superintendent Nick Bertolucci by bringing to light his involvement in a police massacre of black nationalists. The novel is based on a police raid against the Black Panthers in 1969 Chicago
Other eyes by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

4 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 763 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Blue Eriksen is a famous forensic archaeologist based at Northwestern University. She and her team are traveling the globe, testing mummies to research the use of hallucinogens in the development of ancient religions. Armed with evidence from ancient peoples, Blue has become convinced that psilocybin--a hallucinogen derived from mushrooms--can prevent or cure drug addiction. Leeuwarden Ltd. is the cover name for a deeply secret international organization that facilitates the production, delivery, and sale of illegal drugs worldwide. Leeuwarden considers Blue a long-term threat and sends Felix Hacker--one of their enforcers--to kill her. Blue has no idea she's being stalked and prepares for a dig high in the Peruvian mountains
Killer.app by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

12 editions published between 1996 and 2004 in 4 languages and held by 741 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A cyberthriller on a company selling software which it programs to later access the client's database for criminal purposes. An employe who discovers the racket is silenced, but not before she shares the information with her policewoman sister who goes after the crooks
Hard Christmas : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

4 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 741 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Reporter Cat Marsala of Chicago is spending Thanksgiving with a family on a Christmas-tree farm when the body of the foreman is discovered in a tree-baling machine. Cat puts her investigative talents to work and discovers a family's secret
Hard luck : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

5 editions published between 1992 and 1993 in English and held by 653 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chicago-based journalist Cat Marsala investigates the mysterious suicide of a state lottery official and becomes a target of an odds-obsessed killer
Foolproof by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

7 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in English and held by 646 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

September 11 survivors Brenda and Daniel establish a secret anti-terrorist division within their new software security firm and expose a terrorist plot to rig a presidential election
Hard women : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

5 editions published between 1993 and 1996 in 3 languages and held by 635 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Which the streetwalkers, the women in brothels, the escorts, and the by-recommendation-only independents live out their lives - and sometimes die. In the tradition of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone, Barbara D'Amato's Cat Marsala combines courage and curiosity as she illuminates some of the most perplexing issues in today's headlines. The result is mystery entertainment of exceptional power from a greatly gifted author
Hard tack : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

5 editions published between 1991 and 1993 in English and held by 634 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hard case : a Cat Marsala mystery by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

4 editions published between 1994 and 1995 in English and held by 629 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a Chicago hospital Dr. Edith Crosstant, head of the trauma unit, is found dead suffocated by a gauze pad shoved down her throat. The protagonist, reporter Cat Marsala, on assignment to write about the unit, abandons her research to find the killer. By the author of Hard Women
Hardball by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

9 editions published between 1990 and 2014 in English and Czech and held by 536 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Cat Marsala, a freelance writer, accompanies her uncle to a symposium debating the decriminalization of drugs in Illinois. She hopes to interview the leader of the pro-legalization movement, Louise Sugarman. A bomb explodes during the meeting, killing Sugarman and wounding Cat. Sensing a great story, Cat pursues the killer
The doctor, the murder, the mystery : the true story of the Dr. John Branion murder case by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

4 editions published between 1992 and 1997 in English and held by 425 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Of course you know that chocolate is a vegetable, and other stories by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 181 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On my honor by Barbara D'Amato( Book )

1 edition published in 2004 in English and held by 118 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.12 (from 0.10 for Hard road ... to 0.21 for On my hono ...)

Hard evidence : a Cat Marsala mystery
Alternative Names

controlled identityBlack, Malacai

Amato, Barbara d'

Amato Barbara D' 1938-....

Amato, Barbara d' 1948-

Barbara D'Amato Amerikaans romanschrijfster

Barbara D'Amato Writer

Д'Амато, Барбара

ダマート, バーバラ

バーバラ・ダマート

Languages
Covers
White male infantHard road : a Cat Marsala mysteryAuthorized personnel onlyDeath of a thousand cutsHelp me pleaseHard bargain : a Cat Marsala mysteryGood cop, bad copOther eyes