WorldCat Identities

Philomel Books

Overview
Works: 76 works in 90 publications in 1 language and 49,583 library holdings
Genres: Juvenile works  Fiction  Fantasy fiction  History  Poetry  Picture books  Biography  Illustrated works  Folklore  Young adult works 
Roles: Publisher
Classifications: PZ8.1.Y84, FIC
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Philomel Books
Lon Po Po : a Red-Riding Hood story from China by Ed Young( Book )

1 edition published in 1989 in English and held by 4,220 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Three sisters staying home alone are endangered by a hungry wolf who is disguised as their grandmother
Mockingbird (Mok'ing-bûrd) by Kathryn Erskine( Book )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 3,191 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ten-year-old Caitlin, who has Asperger's Syndrome, struggles to understand emotions, show empathy, and make friends at school, while at home she seeks closure by working on a project with her father
Pink and Say by Patricia Polacco( Book )

1 edition published in 1994 in English and held by 3,177 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Say Curtis describes his meeting with Pinkus Aylee, a black soldier, during the Civil War, and their capture by Southern troops. Based on a true story about the author's great-great-grandfather
Thunder cake by Patricia Polacco( Book )

1 edition published in 1990 in English and held by 2,554 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Grandma finds a way to dispel her grandchild's fear of thunderstorms
Redwall by Brian Jacques( Book )

1 edition published in 1986 in English and held by 2,451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When the peaceful life of ancient Redwall Abbey is shattered by the arrival of the evil rat Cluny and his villainous hordes, Matthias, a young mouse, determines to find the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior which, he is convinced, will help Redwall's inhabitants destroy the enemy
Eric Carle's animals, animals by Eric Carle( Book )

1 edition published in 1989 in English and held by 2,289 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An illustrated collection of poems by a variety of authors describing the peculiarities of pets and wild and domestic animals
The butterfly by Patricia Polacco( Book )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 2,044 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. Based on a true story, this picture book tells of a little girl growing up in France during World War II who becomes aware that her family is hiding a Jewish family in the cellar. Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised! Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight. In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance
Rechenka's eggs by Patricia Polacco( Book )

2 editions published in 1988 in English and held by 2,030 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An injured goose rescued by Babushka, having broken the painted eggs intended for the Easter Festival in Moscva, lays thirteen marvelously colored eggs to replace them, then leaves behind one final miracle in egg form before returning to her own kind
Mossflower by Brian Jacques( Book )

1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 1,964 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Martin the warrior mouse and Gonff the mousethief set out to find the missing ruler of Mossflower, while the other animal inhabitants of the woodland prepare to rebel against the evil wildcat who has seized power
The Bellmaker by Brian Jacques( Book )

1 edition published in 1995 in English and held by 1,828 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Worried about his daughter Mariel, Joseph the Bellmaker is led by a dream from Redwall Abbey to Southsward, where he is caught up in the battle between Squirrelking Gael and the vicious Foxwolf Nagru
Mattimeo by Brian Jacques( Book )

1 edition published in 1990 in English and held by 1,825 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mattimeo, the son of the warrior mouse Matthias, learns to take up the sword and joins the other animal inhabitants of Redwall Abbey in resisting Slagar the fox and his band of marauders. Sequel to "Redwall."
Eulalia! by Brian Jacques( Book )

1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 1,638 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lord Asheye, the Badger Lord of Salamandastron envisions his own demise, prompting him to send a clever haremaid from the Long Patrol on a quest to find his successor. Meanwhile, Gorath, an orphaned warrior badger, has a vision of his own: a sword-wielding mouse tells him to follow a thief to Redwall. Complicating matters are Vizka Longtooth and his scurrilous Sea Raiders who want to capture Redwall for themselves
Absolutely almost by Lisa Graff( Book )

2 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in English and held by 1,484 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ten-year-old Albie has never been the smartest, tallest, best at gym, greatest artist, or most musical in his class, as his parents keep reminding him, but new nanny Calista helps him uncover his strengths and take pride in himself
Artist to artist : 23 major illustrators talk to children about their art( Book )

4 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 1,414 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Twenty-three illustrators of children's literature discuss their lives, inspirations, and creative backgrounds and present photographs of themselves and their work spaces along with examples of their illustrations
Appelemando's dreams by Patricia Polacco( Book )

1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 1,285 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Because he spends his time dreaming, the villagers are convinced that Appelemando will never amount to much but in time his dreams change the village and all the people in it
A dance like starlight : one ballerina's dream by Kristy Dempsey( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 1,232 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young girl growing up in Harlem in the 1950s, whose mother cleans and stitches costumes for a ballet company, dreams of becoming a prima ballerina one day, and is thrilled to see a performance of Janet Collins, the first "colored" prima ballerina
Riptide by Frances Ward Weller( Book )

1 edition published in 1990 in English and held by 1,202 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zach's dog Riptide loves the sea and proves himself worthy of being the nineteenth lifeguard on Cape Cod's Nauset Beach
Bear by John Schoenherr( Book )

1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 1,175 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Searching for his mother, a young bear finds his own independence
Fox's dream by Keizaburō Tejima( Book )

1 edition published in 1987 in English and held by 1,046 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wandering through a winter forest, a lonely fox has an enchanting vision and then finds the companionship for which he has been longing
I wonder if I'll see a whale by Frances Ward Weller( Book )

1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 1,035 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aboard a whale-watching boat, a youngster observes the activities of a humpback whale. Includes factual information on the characteristics of whales spotted off the New England coast
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.10 (from 0.00 for Mockingbir ... to 0.16 for Fox's drea ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Pink and Say
Languages
English (25)

Covers
Mockingbird (Mok'ing-bûrd)Pink and SayThunder cakeRedwallEric Carle's animals, animalsThe butterflyRechenka's eggsMossflower