WorldCat Identities

Smith, Margarita G.

Works: 7 works in 39 publications in 2 languages and 662 library holdings
Genres: Short stories  Fiction 
Roles: Editor, Author, Author of introduction, Other
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Margarita G Smith
40 best stories from Mademoiselle, 1935-1960( Book )

4 editions published in 1960 in English and held by 358 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mortgaged heart by Carson McCullers( Book )

23 editions published between 1963 and 2008 in English and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An absorbing look at the early beginnings of one of America's finest writers, The Mortgaged Heart is an important collection of Carson McCullers's work, including stories, essays, articles, poems, and her writing on writing. These pieces, written mostly before McCullers was nineteen, provide invaluable insight into her life and her gifts and growth as a writer. The collection also contains the working outline of “The Mute," which became her best-selling novel The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter. As new generations of readers continue to discover her work, Carson McCullers's celebrated place in American letters survives more surely than ever. Edited by McCullers's sister and with a new introduction by Joyce Carol Oates, The Mortgaged Heart will be an inspiration to writers young and old
Le coeur hypothèqué by Carson McCullers( Book )

7 editions published between 1977 and 2017 in French and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Forty best stories from Mademoiselle 1935-1960 by Cyrilly Abels( Book )

2 editions published in 1960 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A girl named Carson by Margarita G Smith( Book )

1 edition published in 1971 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

White for the living by Margarita G Smith( )

1 edition published in 1943 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Carson McCullers Collection by Carson McCullers( )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The Recipient Series contains approximately 1000 letters to McCullers including letters from fans; from literary and artistic friends Newton Arvin, Marielle Bancou, David Diamond, Janet Flanner, Howard Mandel, Dawn Langley Simmons, and Tennessee Williams, among others; from editors André Bay and John Lackey Brown; movie director Fred Zinnemann; her biographer Oliver Evans; her physician and close friend, Mary Mercer; from literary agents Ann Watkins, Inc., Robert Lantz, Liebling-Wood, and Pearn, Pollinger,? publishers Houghton Mifflin and Company and Mondadori Publishing Company, Inc.; attorneys Fitelson and Mayers; organizations such as the Ford Foundation and the National Institute of Arts and Letters; and her family
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.36 (from 0.28 for The mortga ... to 0.91 for Le coeur h ...)

The mortgaged heart
Alternative Names
Smith, Margarita G.

English (32)

French (7)