WorldCat Identities

Davis, John Bryan

Overview
Works: 110 works in 359 publications in 2 languages and 6,749 library holdings
Genres: History  Conference proceedings  Handbooks, manuals, etc  Biography 
Roles: Editor, Other, Vocalist, Composer, Creator, Performer, Correspondent
Classifications: HB72, 330.1
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  John Bryan Davis Publications about John Bryan Davis
Publications by  John Bryan Davis Publications by John Bryan Davis
Most widely held works by John Bryan Davis
A companion to the history of economic thought by Warren J Samuels ( )
32 editions published between 2003 and 2009 in English and held by 818 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Assembling contributions from top thinkers in the field, this companion offers a comprehensive and sophisticated exploration of the history of economic thought. The volume has a threefold focus: the history of economic thought, the history of economics as a discipline, and the historiography of economic thought. The essays in the first section focus on the history of economic ideas, with topics ranging from ancient, medieval and Islamic thought, to Marxian, Utopian and post-war thought. The second section explores important historiographical topics, including the sociology of economics, methodology, exegesis, and textuality. Each chapter serves as a complex introduction to the chosen topic, and gathered together they provide an extensive synthesis of the field as a whole. The volume is an essential resource for anyone researching or studying the history of economic thought, and will also serve as an excellent text for courses in this area
The Elgar companion to social economics by John Bryan Davis ( )
12 editions published between 2008 and 2010 in English and held by 653 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Demonstrates that social economics is a dynamic and growing field emphasizing the key role social values play in the economy and in economic life. This book also regards economics and ethics as essentially connected, and adds values such as justice, fairness, dignity, well-being, freedom, and equality to the standard emphasis on efficiency
The Elgar companion to economics and philosophy by John Bryan Davis ( )
13 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 602 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
'The volume collects articles surveying developments in such related fields as economic methodology, ethics, epistemology, and social ontology. Many of the articles are forward-looking, and as such constitute substantive and original (and at times provocative) contributions to the literature
New economics and its history ( Book )
12 editions published between 1997 and 1998 in English and held by 554 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Keynes and philosophy : essays on the origin of Keynes's thought by Bradley W Bateman ( Book )
7 editions published between 1991 and 1993 in English and held by 501 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Keynes's philosophical development by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
20 editions published between 1994 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 373 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The author begins by looking at the unpublished Apostles papers, written under the influence of the philosopher G.E. Moore. These display the tensions in Keynes's early philosophical views, and outline his philosophical concepts of the time, including the concept of intuition. Davis then shows how development and change in Keynes's philosophical thinking affected the development of his later economic thinking, and goes on to demonstrate how Keynes's later philosophy is implicit in the economic argument of The General Theory. He argues that Keynes's philosophy had by this time changed radically, that he had adjusted and revised his earlier philosophical thinking, and had abandoned the concept of intuition for the concept of convention. The author sees this as being the central idea in The General Theory, and looks at the philosophical nature of this concept of convention in detail
The social economics of health care by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
15 editions published between 2000 and 2001 in English and held by 365 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
For too long now, the issue of health care reform has been dominated by the techniques of mainstream economics and the constant application of the tools of cost-benefit analysis to an area that does not suit it. Issues such as privacy, genetic testing and the allocation of organ transplants require a more sensitive approach to the setting of budgets, and so a more socially responsible attitude towards health care economics is emerging. John Davis has gathered together an impressive range of contributors to explore these phenomena
The theory of the individual in economics : identity and value by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
15 editions published between 2002 and 2010 in English and held by 365 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The concept of the individual and his/her motivations is a bedrock of philosophy. Economics, though, is guilty of taking this hugely important concept without questioning how we theorise it. This superb book remedies this oversight
Individuals and identity in economics by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
14 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 347 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"This book examines the different conceptions of the individual that have emerged in recent new approaches in economics, including behavioral economics, experimental economics, social preferences approaches, game theory, neuroeconomics, evolutionary and complexity economics, and the capability approach. These conceptions are classified according to whether they seek to revise the traditional atomist individual conception, put new emphasis on interaction and relations between individuals, account for individuals as evolving and self-organizing, and explain individuals in terms of capabilities. The method of analysis uses two identity criteria for distinguishing and re-identifying individuals to determine whether these different individual conceptions successfully identify individuals. Successful individual conceptions account for sub-personal and supra-personal bounds on single individual explanations. The former concerns the fragmentation of individuals into multiple selves; the latter concerns the dissolution of individuals into the social. The book develops an understanding of bounded individuality, seen as central to the defense of human rights"--
The handbook of economic methodology ( Book )
10 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 326 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The state of interpretation of Keynes by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
10 editions published in 1994 in English and held by 239 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Interest in John Maynard Keynes's economic, political and philosophical thinking has undergone a tremendous revival in the last decade. The essays and comments collected in this volume were written on a set of themes representative of the current state of interpretation of Keynes's thinking. Some of the topics investigated have received much attention in the past, and some are of more recent interest. In the former category are topics on standard issues in the interpretation of Keynes's economics: the transition in Keynes's thinking from the The Treatise on Money to The General Theory, the nature of the argument in The General Theory, and Keynes's economic policy views. The latter category introduces themes of a wider nature, and includes two papers on Keynes's vision and one on Keynes's philosophical thinking. The strategy adopted in the selection of topics was to review the debates over Keynes's economics from fresh perspectives, and then go on to supply discussions of broader issues concerning the nature of Keynes as a thinker. This collection as a whole adds to our general understanding of Keynes's work, and contributes to the current revival of interest in Keynes
Economics Broadly Considered ( Book )
12 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 225 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The social economics of human material need ( Book )
3 editions published in 1994 in English and held by 218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The individual in economics by John Bryan Davis ( )
7 editions published between 2003 and 2005 in English and Dutch and held by 193 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Annotation
The Economic surplus in advanced economies ( Book )
7 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 184 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Economic methodology : understanding economics as a science by Marcel Boumans ( Book )
10 editions published in 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 147 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Like other sciences, the study of economics has been shaped by rigorous arguments and debates that continue to influence economists. In this fascinating introduction, the authors consider the scientific nature of the methods, logic, and forms of explanation that underlie economics as a discipline
The life and economics of David Ricardo by John P Henderson ( Book )
6 editions published in 1997 in English and held by 142 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
John P. Henderson's The Life and Economics of David Ricardo represents the first comprehensive personal and intellectual biography of the brilliant and influential British economist. Employing the talents of both a biographer and an economist, the author examines Ricardo's early years, his Sephardic origins and his employment in the London financial markets, as well as his later work on money and banking, international trade, economic instability and the theory of rent and value. Henderson also provides a thorough investigation of Ricardo's relationships with Thomas Robert Malthus and other classical economists. The Life and Economics of David Ricardo will be of interest not only to historians of economic thought and students of economics, but also to any economist working in the Ricardian or Classical Political Economy tradition
The Elgar companion to recent economic methodology by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
12 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 135 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Economics methodology has traditionally been associated with logical positivism in the vein of Milton Friedman, Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos and Thomas Kuhn. However, the emergence and proliferation of new research programs in economics has stimulated many novel developments in economic methodology. This impressive Companion critically examines these advances in methodological thinking, particularly those that are associated with the new research programs which challenge standard economic methodology. Bringing together a collection of leading contributors to this new methodological thinking, the
Recent developments in economic methodology ( Book )
5 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 63 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Plants tolerant of arid, or semi-arid, conditions with non-food constituents of potential use by John Bryan Davis ( Book )
5 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Tabular list of 298 plant sources of essential oils, fibers, firewood, gums and resins, latexes, oilseeds, pesticides, pharmaceuticals, tannins, and waxes
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.61 (from 0.37 for The Elgar ... to 1.00 for Genealogic ...)
Alternative Names
Davis, J. B.
Davis, J. B. 1947-
Davis, John
Davis, John, 1947-
Davis, John, 1947 June 13-
Davis, John B.
Davis, John B., 1947-
Davis, John B. (John Bryan)
Languages
English (225)
Dutch (2)
Covers