WorldCat Identities

Coupland, Douglas

Overview
Works: 233 works in 1,265 publications in 27 languages and 22,889 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  Psychological fiction  Diary fiction  Satire  Biography  Black humor  Experimental fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Science fiction 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay, Contributor, Author of introduction, Interviewee, Illustrator, Scenarist, Creator, Collector, Honoree, Editor
Classifications: PS3553.O855, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Douglas Coupland
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Douglas Coupland
Generation X : tales for an accelerated culture by Douglas Coupland( Book )

150 editions published between 1982 and 2017 in 20 languages and held by 2,013 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Three twenty-something young adults, working at low-paying, no-future jobs, tell one another modern tales of love and death
Eleanor Rigby : a novel by Douglas Coupland( Book )

54 editions published between 1957 and 2010 in 10 languages and held by 1,489 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Liz Dunn has little to keep her going until a strange young man named Jeremy arrives in her life, upsetting her routine and triggering events that take Liz around the world, into danger, and for the first time, within reach of happiness
Microserfs by Douglas Coupland( Book )

89 editions published between 1995 and 2009 in 11 languages and held by 1,476 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Young people working for Microsoft decide to make a bid for freedom by founding their own software company. The novel--narrated as an online journal by danielu@microsoft.com--describes the ups and downs of raising money for a new business. By the author of Generation X
Generation A by Douglas Coupland( Book )

46 editions published between 2009 and 2014 in 6 languages and held by 1,409 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Generation A is set in the near future in a world where bees are extinct, until five unconnected people all around the world -- in the United States, Canada, France, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka -- are all stung. Their shared experience unites them in ways they never could have imagined. Generation A mirrors Coupland's debut novel, 1991's Generation X. It explores new ways of storytelling in a digital world. Like much of Coupland's writing, it occupies the perplexing hinterland between optimism about the future and everyday apocalyptic paranoia. Imaginative, inventive, and fantastically entertaining, Generation A is his most ambitious work to date."--Jacket
The gum thief : a novel by Douglas Coupland( Book )

28 editions published between 2007 and 2009 in English and Dutch and held by 1,382 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Over the course of several months, two retail workers at an office supply superstore--Roger, a divorced, middle aged "aisles associate" at Staples, and his young co-worker, Bethany, an early twenty-something, former Goth--strike up a unique epistolary friendship
JPod : a novel by Douglas Coupland( Book )

54 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in 7 languages and held by 1,314 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From the Publisher: JPod, Douglas Coupland's most acclaimed novel to date, is a lethal joyride into today's new breed of tech worker. Ethan Jarlewski and five co-workers whose surnames begin with "J" are bureaucratically marooned in jPod, a no-escape architectural limbo on the fringes of a massive Vancouver game design company. The jPodders wage daily battle against the demands of a boneheaded marketing staff, who daily torture employees with idiotic changes to already idiotic games. Meanwhile, Ethan's personal life is shaped (or twisted) by phenomena as disparate as Hollywood, marijuana grow-ops, people-smuggling, ballroom dancing, and the rise of China. JPod's universe is amoral, shameless, and dizzyingly fast-paced like our own
All families are psychotic : a novel by Douglas Coupland( Book )

66 editions published between 2001 and 2007 in 12 languages and held by 1,183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"It is the year 2001 and the Drummond family, reunited for the first time in years, has gathered near Cape Canaveral to watch the launch into space of their beloved daughter and sister, Sarah. Against the Technicolor of unreality of Florida's finest tourist attractions, the Drummonds and their intimates manage to stumble into every illicit activity under the tropical sun, kidnapping, blackmail, gunplay, and black market negotiations, to name a few."--Jacket
Girlfriend in a coma by Douglas Coupland( Book )

62 editions published between 1998 and 2012 in 12 languages and held by 1,144 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A New Age novel on a Vancouver woman who falls into a coma which lasts nearly two decades. The novel traces the impact on her family, especially on her boyfriend and a daughter she gave birth to just before the coma. By the author of Life after God
Miss Wyoming by Douglas Coupland( Book )

48 editions published between 1999 and 2011 in 7 languages and held by 1,111 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A former beauty pageant contender and a movie producer both give up their successful lives after brushes with death and travel through California seeking love
Hey Nostradamus! : a novel by Douglas Coupland( Book )

45 editions published between 2003 and 2010 in 9 languages and held by 1,078 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1988, an episode of teenage violence transforms a suburban community, as parents try to cope with the discovery of their children's underground world and the survivors deal with their painful memories of what happened
Worst. person. ever. by Douglas Coupland( Book )

21 editions published between 2013 and 2015 in English and French and held by 1,073 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Worst. Person. Ever. is a deeply unworthy book about a dreadful human being with absolutely no redeeming social value. Raymond Gunt, in the words of the author, is a living, walking, talking, hot steaming pile of pure id
Shampoo planet by Douglas Coupland( Book )

61 editions published between 1992 and 2011 in 10 languages and held by 1,059 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Despite their differing values, Tyler Johnson, an ambitious hotel management student, tries to console his mother, a former hippie, when Dan, his land-developer stepfather, decides to get a divorce
Life after God by Douglas Coupland( Book )

53 editions published between 1994 and 2011 in 9 languages and held by 982 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A collection of stories analyzing the problems of the baby boom generation: boredom, conformity, drugs, promiscuity, aids and the death of God. The general picture is of people fast becoming the kind of people they made fun of
Marshall McLuhan : you know nothing of my work! by Douglas Coupland( Book )

21 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 746 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Surveys the life and career of the social theorist best known for the quotation, "The medium is the message," who helped shape the culture of the 1960s and predicted the future of television and the rise of the Internet
Polaroids from the Dead by Douglas Coupland( Book )

32 editions published between 1992 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 743 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A wide variety of stories and personal 'postcards' about the pivotal people and places that have defined our modern lives ... a skillful combination of stories, fact and fiction--keen outtakes on life in the late twentieth century, exploring the recent past and a society obsessed with celebrity, crime and death."--Jacket
PlayerOne : what is to become of us : a novel in five hours by Douglas Coupland( Book )

2 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 496 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Story of five people caught inside an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster
The age of earthquakes : a guide to the extreme present by Shumon Basar( Book )

11 editions published in 2015 in 3 languages and held by 286 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A highly provocative, mindbending, beautifully designed, and visionary look at the landscape of our rapidly evolving digital era. 50 years after Marshall McLuhan's ground breaking book on the influence of technology on culture in The Medium is the Massage, Basar, Coupland and Obrist extend the analysis to today, touring the world that's redefined by the Internet, decoding and explaining what they call the 'extreme present'
Fred Herzog : photographs by Fred Herzog( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 225 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents a collection of early color and urban street photography by Fred Herzog
Player One : what is to become of us : a novel in five hours by Douglas Coupland( Book )

20 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 190 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is a real-time five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end. In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J.G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species o and that there is no turning back
Hey Nostradamus! a novel by Douglas Coupland( Recording )

15 editions published between 2003 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Chronicles the aftermath of a shooting rampage at a school cafeteria in a quiet Vancouver neighborhood. Four dramatically different characters tell how their lives were forever changed by the violence
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.35 (from 0.13 for Contempora ... to 0.83 for X = what? ...)

Generation X : tales for an accelerated culture
Alternative Names
Coupland, D.

Coupland, Doug.

Coupland, Doug 1961-

Coupland, Douglas 1961-

Coupland, Douglas Campbell

Coupland, Douglas Campbell 1961-

Douglas Coupland

Douglas Coupland Canadees schrijver

Douglas Coupland Canadian novelist, short story writer, playwright, and graphic designer

Douglas Coupland canadisk skribent

Douglas Coupland kanadensisk författare

Douglas Coupland kanadischer Schriftsteller und Künstler

Douglas Coupland kanadisk skribent

Douglas Coupland scrittore canadese

Duqlas Kouplend

Koplends, Duglass 1961-

Дуглас Коупленд

Дъглас Копланд

Коупленд, Дуглас канадский писатель

דאגלס קופלנד

داگلاس کپلند نویسنده کانادایی

코플런드, 더글러스 1961-

クープランド, ダグラス

クープランド, ダグラス キャンベル

ダグラス・クープランド

Languages
Covers
Eleanor Rigby : a novelMicroserfsGeneration AThe gum thief : a novelJPod : a novelAll families are psychotic : a novelGirlfriend in a comaMiss Wyoming