WorldCat Identities

Mahoney, Rosemary

Overview
Works: 15 works in 71 publications in 3 languages and 4,372 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Short stories  Case studies  Historical fiction  Biographies  History  Portraits  Juvenile works  Travel writing  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PS1870, FIC
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Rosemary Mahoney
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Rosemary Mahoney
Down the Nile : alone in a fisherman's skiff by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

5 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and held by 907 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rosemary Mahoney was determined to take a solo trip down the Egyptian Nile in a small boat, even though civil unrest and vexing local traditions conspired to create obstacles every step of the way. Starting off in the south, she gained the unlikely sympathy and respect of a Muslim sailor, who provided her with a skiff and a window into the culturally and materially impoverished lives of rural Egyptians. Egyptian women don't row on the Nile, and tourists aren't allowed to for safety's sake. Mahoney endured extreme heat during the day, and a terror of crocodiles while alone in her boat at night. Whether confronting deeply held beliefs about non-Muslim women, finding connections to past chroniclers of the Nile, or coming to the dramatic realization that fear can engender unwarranted violence, Mahoney's informed curiosity about the world, her prose, and her wit never fail to captivate.--From publisher description
Whoredom in Kimmage : Irish women coming of age by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

8 editions published between 1993 and 1995 in English and Dutch and held by 807 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A study of Irish women taking a more visible role in contemporary society and the obstacles they are facing along the way
The singular pilgrim : travels on sacred ground by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

3 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 418 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author explores the meaning and practice of religious pilgrimage as she recreates the Irish Catholic pilgrimage to Station Island, visits to holy sites in Israel, the Hindu pilgrimage to Varanasi, and a trip to Lourdes, among others
The early arrival of dreams : a year in China by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

16 editions published between 1990 and 2003 in English and French and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One year before the protests in Tiananmen Square, Rosemary Mahoney participated in a teaching exchange between Harvard and Hangzhou University. At Hangzhou she was able to overcome her students' usual rigidity and achieve a glimpse of their culture and their attitudes. This memoir captures both the dreams and the grim realities her Chinese students faced within the confines of an oppressive political regime. --From publisher's description
For the benefit of those who see : dispatches from the world of the blind by Rosemary Mahoney( )

4 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks, Rosemary Mahoney blends science, history, and firsthand reporting to investigate the world of the blind. She travels to Tibet to tell the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind there, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals the misapprehensions and shocking oppression endured by the world's blind as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. Mahoney tells the stories of people who are marginalized yet manage not just to survive but to find joy and humor in life and to prevail. By living among the blind, she enables us to see them in fascinating close-up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world."
My path leads to Tibet : the inspiring story of how one young blind woman brought hope to the blind children of Tibet by Sabriye Tenberken( )

2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

She was twenty-six, blonde and beautiful, sensitive and intelligent ... and blind. Alone, she set off to help the blind of Tibet. Here is the incredible story of a woman many have called a contemporary Mother Teresa
For the benefit of those who see : dispatches from the world of the blind by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

3 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's 'The Island of the Colorblind', Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. 2014
Down the Nile : alone in a fisherman's skiff by Rosemary Mahoney( Recording )

2 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rower and award-winning author recounts her 120-mile solo journey along the Nile between the Egyptian cities of Aswan and Qena. Describes her search for a boat, her excitement in finding ancient ruins, and the obstacles she faced as she confronted searing heat and cultural differences
A likely story : one summer with Lillian Hellman by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

1 edition published in 1999 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Mahoney recalls her summer as a domestic servant for the famous playwright
Twice-told tales by Nathaniel Hawthorne( Book )

1 edition published in 2001 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

A mysterious minister who never removes the black veil shrouding his face, an eccentric scientist who experiments with the fate of his friends, a cheerful tombstone carver who speaks the wisdom of the graveyard, these are but a few of the unusual New Englanders you'll meet in Twice-Told Tales
A selection from Whoredom in Kimmage : Irish women coming of age by Rosemary Mahoney( Book )

1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Motherland : writings by Irish American women about mothers and daughters by Caledonia Kearns( Book )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The darning needle by Rosemary Mahoney( )

1 edition published in 1985 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.17 for Twice-told ... to 1.00 for Whoredom i ...)

Down the Nile : alone in a fisherman's skiff
Covers
Whoredom in Kimmage : Irish women coming of ageThe singular pilgrim : travels on sacred groundThe early arrival of dreams : a year in ChinaA likely story : one summer with Lillian HellmanTwice-told talesMotherland : writings by Irish American women about mothers and daughtersDown the Nile : alone in a fisherman's skiff
Alternative Names
Rosemary Mahoney American writer

Rosemary Mahoney écrivaine américaine

Rosemary Mahoney escriptora estatunidenca

Rosemary Mahoney escritora estadounidense

Rosemary Mahoney escritora estauxunidense

Rosemary Mahoney escritora norte-americana

Rosemary Mahoney scrittrice statunitense

Rosemary Mahoney yhdysvaltalainen kirjailija

روزماري ماهوني كاتبة أمريكية

Languages
English (68)

French (2)

Dutch (1)