WorldCat Identities

Heritage Press (New York, N.Y.)

Overview
Works: 158 works in 190 publications in 1 language and 31,819 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Poetry  Romance fiction  Psychological fiction  Domestic fiction  History  Bildungsromans  Epic poetry  Novels  Epic poetry, Greek 
Roles: Publisher, Printer
Classifications: PA4025.A2, 823.8
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about N.Y.) Heritage Press (New York
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by N.Y.) Heritage Press (New York
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë( Book )

2 editions published between 1942 and 1943 in English and held by 1,452 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In early nineteenth-century England, an orphaned young woman accepts employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall, a country estate owned by the mysteriously remote Mr. Rochester
Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë( Book )

1 edition published in 1943 in English and held by 1,156 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 19th century Yorkshire, the passionate attachment between a headstrong young girl and a foundling boy brought up by her father causes disaster for them and many others, even in the next generation
The age of fable, or, The beauties of mythology by Thomas Bulfinch( Book )

1 edition published in 1942 in English and held by 1,057 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Iliad by Homer( Book )

1 edition published in 1943 in English and held by 686 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The centuries old epic about the wrath of Achilles is rendered into modern English verse by a renowned translator and accompanied by an introduction that reassesses the identity of Homer. In Robert Fagles' beautifully rendered text, the Iliad overwhelms us afresh. The huge themes godlike, yet utterly human of savagery and calculation, of destiny defied, of triumph and grief compel our own humanity. Time after time, one pauses and re-reads before continuing. Fagles' voice is always that of a poet and scholar of our own age as he conveys the power of Homer. Robert Fagles and Bernard Knox are to be congratulated and praised on this admirable work
Gulliver's travels: an account of the four voyages into several remote nations of the world by Jonathan Swift( Book )

3 editions published in 1940 in English and held by 558 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The voyages of an eighteenth-century Englishman carry him to such strange places as Lilliput, where people are six inches tall; Brobdingnag, a land of giants; an island of sorcerers; and a country ruled by horses
Tales of the gold rush by Bret Harte( Book )

1 edition published in 1944 in English and held by 526 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Short stories of the California Gold Rush
Droll stories : thirty tales by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 1939 in English and held by 504 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A scandal to Balzac's contemporaries and a delight for modern readers, these selections offer a lively, lusty portrait of 16th-century French life in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais"--
Salome : a tragedy in one act by Oscar Wilde( Book )

1 edition published in 1945 in English and held by 503 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After Salome dances for the king, she asks for the head of John the Baptist for her mother
The divine comedy of Dante Alighieri by Dante Alighieri( Book )

1 edition published in 1944 in English and held by 498 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The narrative describes Dante's travels through Hell, Purgatory, and Paradise or Heaven, while allegorically the poem represents the soul's journey towards God
A woman's life by Guy de Maupassant( Book )

2 editions published in 1942 in English and held by 449 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The pessimistic story of Jeanne, a Norman gentlewoman whose life, begun so hopefully, ends in betrayal, loss, and disillusion
The Nibelungenlied by Margaret Armour( Book )

1 edition published in 1961 in English and held by 441 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The greatest of the heroic epics to emerge from medieval Germany, the Nibelungenlied is a revenge saga of sweeping dimensions. It tells of the dragon-slayer Sivrit, the mysterious kingdom of the Nibelungs, a priceless treasure guarded by dwarves and giants, an Amazonian queen, fortune-telling water-sprites, and a cloak of invisibility. Driven by the conflict between Kriemhilt, the innocent maiden turned she-devil, and her antagonist, the stoic, indomitable Hagen, the story is one of love, jealousy, murder, and revenge, ending in slaughter on a horrific scale. - Amazon
Poems of Heinrich Heine by Heinrich Heine( Book )

1 edition published in 1957 in English and held by 428 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Virgil's Georgics by Virgil( Book )

1 edition published in 1953 in English and held by 425 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is the best poetry of Ancient Rome
The decline and fall of the Roman Empire by Edward Gibbon( Book )

1 edition published in 1946 in English and held by 419 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author makes the point that in this abridgement he has adhered to Gibbon's style, format, planning, and footnotes, and has made only selective exclusions. The history covers the centuries from Marcus Aurelius to the capture of Constantinople, and concludes with an epilogue dealing with medieval Rome and the dawn of the Renaissance
The Sir Roger de Coverley papers by Joseph Addison( Book )

2 editions published in 1945 in English and held by 399 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An English squire of Queen Anne's reign, Sir Roger exemplified the values of an old country gentleman, and was portrayed as lovable but somewhat ridiculous ('rather beloved than esteemed' (Spectator no. 2), making his Tory politics seem harmless but silly. He was said to be the grandson of the man who invented the dance named after him. This collection of essays from the Spectator includes introductory chapters on the historical background for this 17th/18th century Queen Anne period, on the evolution of The Spectator, and on the lives of Joseph Addison and Richard Steele. Steele, the founder of The Tatler, and The Spectator with Addison, sketched the corresponding plan of the Spectator's Club, with Sir Roger de Coverley representing the honorable values of the country gentleman of the best kind, as here set forth from the original issues of The Spectator in 1711 and beyond. Addison's contributions to The Spectator are said to have perfected the essay as a literary form. His prose style was the model for pure and elegant English until the end of the 18th century; his comments on the manners and morals were widely influential in forming the middle-class ideal of a dispassionate, tolerant, Christian world citizen. His fictitious Sir Roger De Coverly Papers, according to William Makepeace Thackeray, give a full ".expression of the life of the time; of the manners, of the movement, the dress, the pleasures, the laughter, and the ridicules of society," for the period in a way that no pure history or autobiography ever could
Peer Gynt by Henrik Ibsen( Book )

1 edition published in 1957 in English and held by 398 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Among the masterpieces of world literature, this great verse drama by Norway's famed playwright humorously yet profoundly explores the virtues, vices, and follies common to all humanity as it follows the roguish life of a charming but arrogant young man. A literary delight since it was first published in 1875
Don Quixote, the ingenious gentleman of La Mancha by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra( Book )

1 edition published in 1950 in English and held by 390 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The ambassadors by Henry James( Book )

1 edition published in 1963 in English and held by 387 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Strether is sent to Paris by a wealthy matron to retrieve her wayward son, but he becomes sidetracked by intriguing complications. He begins to question the importance of morality and personal desire versus duty
The twelve Caesars by Suetonius( Book )

1 edition published in 1965 in English and held by 385 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Intimate details about the lives of the rulers of Rome
Rights of man by Thomas Paine( Book )

2 editions published in 1961 in English and held by 364 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One of Paine's greatest and most widely read works, considered a classic statement of faith in democracy and egalitarianism, defends the early events of the French Revolution, supports social security for workers, public employment for those in need of work, abolition of laws limiting wages, and other social reforms. -- http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/177523.Rights_of_Man?from_search=true&search_version=service
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.30 (from 0.07 for Salome : a ... to 0.94 for Ten years ...)

Languages
English (45)