WorldCat Identities

Duneier, Mitchell

Works: 17 works in 81 publications in 1 language and 3,208 library holdings
Genres: Ethnographic films  Documentary films  Nonfiction films 
Roles: Author, Editor, Commentator, Creator
Classifications: F548.9.N4, 305.38896073077311
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Mitchell Duneier
Slim's table : race, respectability, and masculinity by Mitchell Duneier( Book )

14 editions published between 1992 and 1994 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,342 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author examines the lives and values of working class inner-city Black men who gather at a Chicago cafeteria exploding distorted media stereotypes in the process
Sidewalk by Mitchell Duneier( Book )

13 editions published between 1999 and 2001 in English and held by 996 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents the lives of poor African-American men who make their subsistence wages by selling used goods on the streets of Greenwich Village in New York; and discusses how they interact with passing pedestrians, police officers, and each other
Introduction to sociology by Anthony Giddens( Book )

21 editions published between 2000 and 2014 in English and held by 455 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An introduction to the study of sociology that includes information on different sociological theories, the founding fathers of sociology, the ways sociology is studied and practiced around the world, and other related topics
The urban ethnography reader by Mitchell Duneier( Book )

11 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 147 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book assembles the very best of American ethnographic writing, from classic works to contemporary research, and aims to present ethnography as social science, social history, and literature alongside its traditional place as methodology. In addition to an original introduction that highlights the importance and development of the field, Kasinitz, Duneier, and Murphy also provide introductions to each section of the book. The section introductions will cover the period's historical events and how they influenced the study of the city, the major themes and preoccupations of ethnography, what was happening in the social sciences as a whole, and how the excerpts chosen fit into the larger work in which they were originally published. A valuable companion to a wide range of courses on cities across the social sciences, this book captures the diversity, the historical development, and the continuing importance of the ethnographic approach to understanding American communities
Essentials of sociology by Anthony Giddens( Book )

6 editions published between 2005 and 2013 in English and held by 75 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Intersection : sidewalks and public space( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 66 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Truth be told( Visual )

2 editions published between 2005 and 2012 in English and held by 50 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Sociological research and methodology is often the subject of debate among sociologists. The pursuit of objectivity in sociological research, critical sociology, and the idea of sociology as a science ... each has transformed the way sociologists approach sociological research. This lesson also includes discussion of quantitative and qualitative methodologies, and features a segment on sociologist Mitchell Duneier and his research on New York City homeless populations."
Sidewalk( Visual )

2 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"It has been a decade and a half since a streetcorner book vendor and intellectual named Hakim Hasan introduced Mitchell Duneier to the people he came to write about in the book Sidewalk (1999). Now Duneier has collaborated with director Barry Alexander Brown and photographer Ovie Carter to provide a visual presentation that begins where the book ended. It updates the stories of Ron, Mudrick, Ishmael, Butteroll, and other unhoused vendors on Sixth Avenue in Greenwich Village, showing what happened as they struggled in the wake of new economic and political realities, including those associated with September 11, 2001. It also contains footage from an interview Duneier did with Jane Jacobs, her last before she died in 2006. The DVD also contains a panel discussion about the film with Cornel West and Kim Hopper at the American Sociological Association's annual meeting; and Duneier's introductory lecture on ethnographic method, in which two sidewalk vendors visit his Princeton class."--Container
Essentials of sociology : with 10 readings by Anthony Giddens( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ghetto : the invention of a place, the spread of an idea by Mitchell Duneier( Book )

1 edition published in 2015 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Introduction to sociology by Anthony Giddens( Recording )

3 editions published between 2003 and 2007 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book was written in the belief that sociology has a key role to play in modern intellectual culture and a central place within the social sciences. [The book] combines some originality with an analysis of the basic issues that interest sociologists today. -Pref
Perspectives on the family( Visual )

1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Examines some of the theoretical models therapists as well as researchers use to study the family. Regardless of which of these models they use, family therapists and researchers work in a field that is not only personally gratifying, but makes a genuine difference in people's lives
Becoming a Veteran by Nandi Elizabeth Dill( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

With the majority of the study's subjects as diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), this research also addresses how the presence of PTSD can challenge the maintenance and performance of military masculinities. Data show that becoming a veteran involves an engagement with and performance of military masculinities, which are organized around core military values of bravery, integrity and trust. Former soldiers use narrative and behavioral strategies in relation to these values in order to find continued relevance for their combat experiences and to address a sense of disempowerment that accompanies being a veteran. This dissertation finds that this sense of disempowerment is more prevalent in Vietnam era veterans and results from more heavily contested boundaries around which their veteranness has been historically defined
Essentials of sociology by Anthony Giddens( Recording )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Major themes are public sociology, globalizing of social life, the importance of comparative study, issues of gender, and the micro-macro link. Rather than abstract discussion of basic sociological concepts, concepts are explained when they are introduced and illustrated with concrete examples from sociological research and other sources. Study aids include objectives, concept-review questions, and data exercises. -
Introduction to sociology( )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Andrea's dream : a single parent's fight for independence by Mitchell Duneier( Book )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Sidewalk by Hakim Hasan( )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An exceptional ethnography marked by clarity and candor, Sidewalk takes us into the socio-cultural environment of those who, though often seen as threatening or unseemly, work day after day on "the blocks" of one of New York's most diverse neighborhoods. Sociologist Duneier, author of Slim's Table, offers an accessible and compelling group portrait of several poor black men who make their livelihoods on the sidewalks of Greenwich Village selling secondhand goods, panhandling, and scavenging books and magazines. Duneier spent five years with these individuals, and in Sidewalk he argues that, contrary to the opinion of various city officials, they actually contribute significantly to the order and well-being of the Village. An important study of the heart and mind of the street, Sidewalk also features an insightful afterword by longtime book vendor Hakim Hasan. This fascinating study reveals today's urban life in all its complexity: its vitality, its conflicts about class and race, and its surprising opportunities for empathy among strangers. Sidewalk is an excellent supplementary text for a range of courses: INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY: Shows how to make important links between micro and macro; how a research project works; how sociology can transform common sense. RACE AND ETHNIC RELATIONS: Untangles race, class, and gender as they work together on the street. URBAN STUDIES: Asks how public space is used and contested by men and women, blacks and whites, rich and poor, and how street life and political economy interact. DEVIANCE: Looks at labeling processes in treatment of the homeless; interrogates the "broken windows" theory of policing. LAW AND SOCIETY: Closely examines the connections between formal and informal systems of social control. METHODS: Shows how ethnography works; includes a detailed methodological appendix and an afterword by research subject Hakim Hasan. CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY: Sidewalk engages the rich terrain of recent developments regarding representation, writing, and authority; in the tradition of Elliot Liebow and Ulf Hannerz, it deals with age old problems of the social and cultural experience of inequality; this is a telling study of culture on the margins of American society. CULTURAL STUDIES: Breaking down disciplinary boundaries, Sidewalk shows how books and magazines are received and interpreted in discussions among working-class people on the sidewalk; it shows how cultural knowledge is deployed by vendors and scavengers to generate subsistence in public space. SOCIOLOGY OF CULTURE: Sidewalk demonstrates the connections between culture and human agency and innovation; it interrogates distinctions between legitimate subcultures and deviant collectivities; it illustrates conflicts over cultural diversity in public space; and, ultimately, it shows how conflicts over meaning are central to social life
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.32 (from 0.26 for Perspectiv ... to 0.95 for Sidewalk ...)

Slim's table : race, respectability, and masculinity
Alternative Names
Duneier, M.

Mitchell Duneier American sociologist

English (80)

SidewalkIntroduction to sociologyEssentials of sociologyIntersection : sidewalks and public space