WorldCat Identities

Crombie, Deborah

Overview
Works: 63 works in 786 publications in 10 languages and 35,411 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Detective and mystery stories, English 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PS3553.R5378, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Deborah Crombie
No mark upon her by Deborah Crombie( Book )

39 editions published between 2011 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 2,210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This mystery novel embroils Kincaid and James in the case of the puzzling drowning of a rower, a Met detective, on the Thames. It is twisting tale of psychological suspense, a story rich in deadly secrets, salacious lies, and unexpected betrayals. When an Olympic rowing hopeful and a detective with the Met is found dead in the Thames, Scotland Yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid, along with his wife and his team, is submerged in a complex case involving political and ethical issues that put both his career and reputation on the line
In a dark house by Deborah Crombie( Book )

49 editions published between 2004 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 2,195 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scotland Yard detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James investigate linked cases of a body found in a burned warehouse beside a women's shelter for victims of spousal abuse and the mysterious disappearance of a beautiful, young, emotionally fragile hospital administrator. Meanwhile, nine-year-old Harriet, a victim of parental abduction waits in an old, dark, rambling house, not knowing whether she will ever see her feuding parents again
And justice there is none by Deborah Crombie( Book )

47 editions published between 2002 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 2,122 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Settling into their new home in London's bohemian Notting Hill, Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James find their idyllic world taking a sinister turn when an antique dealer's wife is found murdered outside her luxury mansion
Necessary as blood by Deborah Crombie( Book )

32 editions published between 2009 and 2015 in 5 languages and held by 2,101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The disappearance of a young mother, the murder of her Pakistani husband, and a child's life in danger lead Scotland Yard detectives Gemma James and Duncan Kincaid into London's legendary East End--a neighborhood where the rich and the poor, the ambitious and the dangerous, collide--to solve one of the most challenging and disturbing cases they've ever faced
Where memories lie by Deborah Crombie( Book )

35 editions published between 2008 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 2,099 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Detective Inspector Gemma James and her partner, Duncan Kincaid, must navigate the shadowy and secretive world of London's moneyed society to discover a jewelry piece's connection to a murderer and a pair of refugees from Nazi Germany
A finer end by Deborah Crombie( Book )

40 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 2,072 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Duncan Kincaid has settled into his life as part-time father to Kit, the twelve-year-old son he only recently discovered. But life has more changes in store: Gemma has pursued a promotion that ends their partnership on the job and places their personal relationship on a new, more tentative footing. So when Duncan's cousin and childhood friend calls from Glastonbury to ask his help on a rather unusual matter, he welcomes the opportunity to get out of London--and to spend a relaxing weekend with Gemma. But relaxation isn't on the agenda ..."--Jacket
Water like a stone by Deborah Crombie( Book )

38 editions published between 2003 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 2,016 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Superintendant Duncan Kincaid takes Gemma, Kit and Toby to visit his family in Cheshire. But their visit is marred when Duncan's sister discovers a mummified infant's body interred in the wall of an old dairy barn. As the police make enquiries into the infant's death, Kincaid discovers that life in the town of his childhood is far from idyllic
Now may you weep by Deborah Crombie( Book )

38 editions published between 2003 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 2,005 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Traveling to Scotland with her best friend, Detective Inspector Gemma Jones stumbles across a dangerous secret when she unexpectedly meets the lover of her married best friend
The sound of broken glass by Deborah Crombie( Book )

19 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and German and held by 1,907 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

While investigating the murder of a well-respected barrister who was found dead at a seedy hotel in Crystal Palace, Detective Inspector Gemma James and her partner, Detective Sergeant Melody Talbot, begin to question everything they think they know about their world and those they trust most
Mourn not your dead by Deborah Crombie( Book )

44 editions published between 1996 and 2013 in 7 languages and held by 1,748 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In England, the romantic police pair of Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James investigate the murder of their commander, Superintendent Gilbert, an unloved man, even by his wife
Leave the grave green by Deborah Crombie( Book )

56 editions published between 1995 and 2013 in 7 languages and held by 1,645 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A body fished from the Thames opens this British-style whodunit by an American author. It stars the Scotland Yard superintendent, Duncan Kincaid, and his sergeant, Gemma Jones, as they investigate the drowning of the black sheep of a wealthy family. Zest is added to the probe by the growing attraction between Kincaid and the victim's widow, something which his lady sergeant frowns upon. By the author of A Share in Death
To dwell in darkness by Deborah Crombie( Book )

18 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in English and German and held by 1,571 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P.D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder. Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander. The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss--who's been avoiding him--is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values--and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is"--
All shall be well by Deborah Crombie( Book )

42 editions published between 1994 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 1,529 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Supt. Kincaid of Scotland Yard investigates the death of a lady living in his building. Ill with cancer, she asked friends to help her commit suicide, but Kincaid suspects the morphine that killed her was administered by someone intent on murder, not euthanasia
Dreaming of the bones by Deborah Crombie( Book )

19 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in 7 languages and held by 1,187 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Investigator Duncan Kincaid is summoned by his ex-wife, to examine evidence which could prove that the untimely death of a famous poet, was due to murder, not suicide
Dreaming of the bones by Deborah Crombie( )

10 editions published between 2000 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 762 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A biographer asks Scotland yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and Sergeant Gemma Jones to help her prove that a talented poet did not commit suicide, but was murdered. They discover startling news that leads them into an engrossing history of poetry and scandal, found secrets and lost innocence
Kissed a sad goodbye by Deborah Crombie( )

8 editions published between 1999 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 661 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Crombie weaves a tale of two boys who become allies, then friends, in a story of trust and betrayal whose repercussions echo across six decades
Where memories lie by Deborah Crombie( Recording )

12 editions published between 2008 and 2012 in English and held by 574 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When her friend Erika explains that a piece of jewelry that had been stolen from her years earlier may be tied to her husband's suspicious death, Detective Inspector Gemma James investigates the piece's appearance at a prestigious London auction house
Now may you weep by Deborah Crombie( Recording )

18 editions published between 2003 and 2011 in English and held by 472 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Traveling to Scotland with her best friend, Detective Inspector Gemma Jones stumbles across a dangerous secret when she unexpectedly meets the lover of her married best friend
Leave the grave green by Deborah Crombie( Recording )

20 editions published between 1996 and 2008 in English and held by 470 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When a body is found floating in the Thames, could it be connected to an earlier family drowning, twenty years ago? Scotland Yard superintendent, Duncan Kincaid, and his sergeant, Gemma Jones, investigate. Zest is added to the probe by the growing attraction between Kincaid and the victim's widow, something which his lady sergeant frowns upon
In a dark house by Deborah Crombie( Recording )

15 editions published between 2004 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 456 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Superintendent Duncan Kincaid is called to investigate the shocking death of a woman found burned beyond recognition in a Victorian warehouse in south London. When his lover and partner, Gemma James, is asked to trace a friend's missing roommate, she and Duncan discover that their cases have several disturbing links. Set against a backdrop of Dickensian Southwark, repository of old secrets, the case plunges Duncan and Gemma into the dark recesses of human relationships. Two women are missing, a little girl is abducted, and no one is really what they seem. The detectives must discover the truth, as innocent lives hang in the balance
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.17 (from 0.11 for The sound ... to 0.32 for Now may yo ...)

Water like a stone
Alternative Names
Crombie, Deborah D

Deborah Crombie Amerikaans romanschrijfster

Deborah Crombie auteur de romans policiers

Deborah Crombie US-amerikanische Krimi-Schriftstellerin

クロンビー, D

クロンビー, デボラ

デボラ・クロンビー

Languages
English (403)

German (102)

French (35)

Japanese (21)

Spanish (10)

Czech (5)

Italian (2)

Dutch (2)

Slovak (1)

Norwegian (1)

Covers
In a dark houseAnd justice there is noneNecessary as bloodWhere memories lieA finer endWater like a stoneNow may you weepMourn not your dead