WorldCat Identities

Ward, Matthew 1950 or 1951-1990

Overview
Works: 6 works in 35 publications in 1 language and 3,970 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Adventure stories  Detective and mystery stories  Juvenile works  History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Study guides 
Roles: Translator
Classifications: PQ2605.A3734, 843.914
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Matthew Ward Publications about Matthew Ward
Publications by  Matthew Ward Publications by Matthew Ward
posthumous Publications by Matthew Ward, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about Matthew Ward
 
Most widely held works by Matthew Ward
The stranger by Albert Camus ( Book )
20 editions published between 1946 and 2008 in English and held by 3,300 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A young Algerian, Meursault, afflicted with a sort of aimless inertia, becomes embroiled in the petty intrigues of a local pimp and, somewhat inexplicably, ends up killing a man. Once he's imprisoned and eventually brought to trial, his crime, it becomes apparent, is not so much the arguably defensible murder he has committed as it is his deficient character. In the story of an ordinary man who unwittingly gets drawn into a senseless murder on a sun-drenched Algerian beach, Camus was exploring what he termed "the nakedness of man faced with the absurd". Now in a new American translation, the classic has been given new life for generations to come
The stranger by Albert Camus ( Recording )
7 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 531 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
When a young Algerian named Meursault kills a man, his subsequent imprisonment and trial are puzzling and absurd. The apparently amoral Meursault--who puts little stock in ideas like love and God--seems to be on trial less for his murderous actions, and more for what the authorities believe is his deficient character
The collected stories of Colette by Colette ( Book )
3 editions published between 1984 and 1988 in English and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
100 stories dating from 1908 to 1945
War of the world records by Matthew Ward ( Book )
2 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Discover who will be crowned the world's most record-breaking family in the book that's perfect for fans of The Guinness Book of World Records! The rivalry between the Whipples and the Goldwins escalates to an all-out war as the World Record World Championships draw near. When sinister clowns Overkill and Undercut cause a regulation game of hide-and-seek to go horrifically wrong, recordless Arthur Whipple and his unlikely ally, Ruby Goldwin, set out to catch the clowns' mysterious boss, known only as 'the Treasurer.' The young detectives follow the clues through darkened alleyways, dingy nightclubs, and the gothic halls of the World Record Archives, where they unravel the mystery of the Lyon's Curse and the secrets of their fathers' shared past. In the end, Arthur must fight to save his family as he struggles to earn his first world record and prove himself worthy of the Whipple name
The fantastic family Whipple by Matthew Ward ( Book )
2 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
For every child who's ever dreamed of being in the Guinness Book of World Records comes the story of eleven-year-old Arthur Whipple and his fantastic family of world record breakers . . . - Most CrEme BrulEe Eaten in One Minute - Highest Number of Matching Outfits Worn by a Stuffed Toy and Its Owner - Youngest Person to Summit the Third-Highest Mountain in the World These are just three of the 49,521 records won by Arthur's twelve brothers and sisters. Unfortunately, unlike his siblings, Arthur hasn't broken a single, solitary world record! But when the Whipples suffer a spate of catastrophes and a curious amount of attention from a pair of irregularly sized and unusually menacing clowns, Arthur might be the only one who can save his family from losing their collective crown . . . or worse. A 2013 BOOK EXPO AMERICA (BEA) BUZZ PANEL SELECTION!
 
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.20 (from 0.07 for War of the ... to 1.00 for For Matt W ...)
Alternative Names
Ward, Matthew 1950 or 51-1990
Languages
English (35)
Covers