WorldCat Identities

Waring, James

Overview
Works: 32 works in 134 publications in 1 language and 11,363 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Short stories, French  History  Allegories  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Psychological fiction  Biography  Didactic fiction 
Roles: Translator, Choreographer
Classifications: PQ2165, 843.7
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about James Waring
 
Most widely held works by James Waring
Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

39 editions published between 1846 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 91 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette
The comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published in 1897 in English and held by 74 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 72 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The poor parents = Les parents pauvres by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

3 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The human comedy : selected stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

14 editions published between 1895 and 1899 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"We think of Honore Balzac as the author of long and fully upholstered novels, stitched together into the magnificent visionary document called The Human Comedy. Yet along with the full-length fiction within The Human Comedy stand many shorter works, and it's here that we get some of his most daring explorations of crime, sexuality, and artistic creation. As Marcel Proust noted, it is in these tales that we detect, under the surface, the mysterious circulation of blood and desire. All are newly translated by three outstanding translators who restore the freshness of Balzac's vivid and highly colored prose"--
Cousin Betty ; Cousin Pons, and, other stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

1 edition published in 1899 in English and held by 48 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Beatrix by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

8 editions published between 1896 and 1901 in English and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Honore de Balzac excelled at creating unforgettable characters, but most of his creations were works of pure fiction. Many critics have asserted that the novel Beatrix is a roman a clef depicting the life of the French memoirist George Sand, as well as the larger cultural shift from an era of genteel aristocracy and class stratification to a more democratic way of living
The comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Works of Honoré de Balzac by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published in 1895 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Béatrix ; and, the purse (La bourse) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The poor parents (Les parents pauvres) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 1898 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Louis Lambert by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Veering away from his realism and plot based novels comes Louis Lambert. Containing real elements from De Balzac's childhood critics have suggested it should be classed as a fictionalized autobiography. However De Balzac himself proclaimed the plot was merely a platform for the metaphysical and philosophical ideas of the main boy-genius protagonist. The author regularly declared himself to be a genius. Many agree he used Louis Lambert to explore the problems and difficulties that arise within society from the perspective of a genius. Any readers who have become fans of De Balzac and wish to further explore his musings and personal thoughts should definitely read this
The muse of the Department by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

7 editions published between 1999 and 2000 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The lily of the valley and other stories by Honoré de Balzac( )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author's favorite of his own works, Lily of the Valley tells the story of Felix, a young man with a dark past always turned away, always unloved. One night at a party, he falls in love with Henriette, who is already married. The morbid romance which ensues is anything but conventional. This volume also includes Another Study of Woman," The Great Breteche," and A Man of Business."
Gambara by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novella Gambara is part of the Philosophical Studies section of Honore de Balzac''s The Human Comedy. It follows a tumultuous relationship between Italian nobleman Andrea Marcosini and the beautiful, young Marianna. She happens to be married to a mercurial, much older composer, who some believe is a genius and others regard as an abject failure
Poor relations : Cousin Pons by Honoré de Balzac( )

2 editions published between 1846 and 2014 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This diptych is part of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece, The Human Comedy. It comprises two stories, ""Cousin Betty"" and ""Cousin Pons, "" each of which delve deeply into complicated family dynamics and the long-lasting impact of seemingly trivial conflicts
A harlot high and low (Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published between 1838 and 2014 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem finally to have caught up with him. Will he be able to pull off the labyrinthine scheme cooked up to secure his freedom?
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.39 (from 0.04 for The muse o ... to 0.99 for James Wari ...)

Cousin Bette
Alternative Names
Languages
English (106)

Covers
Louis Lambert