WorldCat Identities

Waring, James

Overview
Works: 33 works in 149 publications in 1 language and 10,982 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Short stories, French  History  Political fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Romance fiction  Allegories  Psychological fiction  Didactic fiction  Biography 
Roles: Translator, Choreographer
Classifications: PQ2165, 843.7
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about James Waring
 
Most widely held works by James Waring
Le lys dans la vallée by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

16 editions published between 1897 and 1902 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Woman of thirty: Deals with an attractive young woman sacrificed to a dull husband
Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

38 editions published between 1846 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 89 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette
The comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published in 1897 in English and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 73 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The poor parents = Les parents pauvres by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

3 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 63 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The human comedy : selected stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

14 editions published between 1895 and 1899 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"We think of Honore Balzac as the author of long and fully upholstered novels, stitched together into the magnificent visionary document called The Human Comedy. Yet along with the full-length fiction within The Human Comedy stand many shorter works, and it's here that we get some of his most daring explorations of crime, sexuality, and artistic creation. As Marcel Proust noted, it is in these tales that we detect, under the surface, the mysterious circulation of blood and desire. All are newly translated by three outstanding translators who restore the freshness of Balzac's vivid and highly colored prose"--
Cousin Betty ; Cousin Pons, and, other stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

1 edition published in 1899 in English and held by 48 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Beatrix by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

8 editions published between 1896 and 1901 in English and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Honore de Balzac excelled at creating unforgettable characters, but most of his creations were works of pure fiction. Many critics have asserted that the novel Beatrix is a roman a clef depicting the life of the French memoirist George Sand, as well as the larger cultural shift from an era of genteel aristocracy and class stratification to a more democratic way of living
The comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Comédie humaine. by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published in 1895 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The bureaucrats by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

10 editions published between 1899 and 2000 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This fascinating novel from French master Honore de Balzac was published just as the age of bureaucracy was kicking into high gear in the mid-nineteenth century. Balzac delves deeply into the labyrinthine workings of a French agency, conveying the machinations, political alliances, and complex characters with astonishing texture and detail
The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The poor parents (Les parents pauvres) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

3 editions published between 1898 and 1899 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

La maison Nucingen ; précédé de Melmoth réconcilié by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

9 editions published between 1837 and 2004 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One of the key themes that is woven throughout Balzac''s masterpiece, The Human Comedy, relates to the dangers of materialism and greed. In this novella, the narrator overhears some fellow diners discussing a complicated financial scheme that contributed to the fortunes of one of the wealthiest families in the country. The story also provides important background information about many characters who appear elsewhere in The Human Comedy
Louis Lambert by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of Louis Lambert, an isolated, sensitive, boy-genius who is discovered and sent to Collège Vendôme where he bonds with his only friend over discussions of philosophy and mysticism. While his friend is forced to leave school due to illness, Louis continues and graduated in 1815 at the age of eighteen. While living in Paris for three years, and later after returning to his uncle's home in Blois, he writes letters to his friend, continuing their discussions, and describing how his life has continued
A harlot high and low (Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published between 1838 and 2014 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem finally to have caught up with him. Will he be able to pull off the labyrinthine scheme cooked up to secure his freedom?
Poor relations : Cousin Pons by Honoré de Balzac( )

2 editions published between 1846 and 2014 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This diptych is part of Honore de Balzac''s epic masterpiece, The Human Comedy. It comprises two stories, ""Cousin Betty"" and ""Cousin Pons, "" each of which delve deeply into complicated family dynamics and the long-lasting impact of seemingly trivial conflicts
Gambara by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novella Gambara is part of the Philosophical Studies section of Honore de Balzac''s The Human Comedy. It follows a tumultuous relationship between Italian nobleman Andrea Marcosini and the beautiful, young Marianna. She happens to be married to a mercurial, much older composer, who some believe is a genius and others regard as an abject failure
The lily of the valley and other stories by Honoré de Balzac( )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author's favorite of his own works, Lily of the Valley tells the story of Felix, a young man with a dark past always turned away, always unloved. One night at a party, he falls in love with Henriette, who is already married. The morbid romance which ensues is anything but conventional. This volume also includes Another Study of Woman," The Great Breteche," and A Man of Business."
Comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac( )

in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.36 (from 0.07 for La maison ... to 0.99 for James Wari ...)

Cousin Bette
Alternative Names
Languages
English (131)

Covers
Louis Lambert