WorldCat Identities

Waring, James

Overview
Works: 32 works in 135 publications in 1 language and 5,719 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Love stories  Allegories  History  Records and correspondence  Biography 
Roles: Translator
Classifications: PQ2161, 843.7
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  James Waring Publications about James Waring
Publications by  James Waring Publications by James Waring
posthumous Publications by James Waring, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about James Waring
 
Most widely held works by James Waring
Cousin Betty by Honoré de Balzac ( )
24 editions published between 1890 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,244 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The muse of the department by Honoré de Balzac ( )
in English and held by 1,175 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The firm of Nucingen by Honoré de Balzac ( )
4 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 1,174 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Massimilla Doni by Honoré de Balzac ( )
in English and held by 1,172 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In Massimilla Doni, Balzac tells the story of the conflict between ideal and real love. Emilio Memmi loves the duchesse de Cataneo (Missimilla Doni), who has taken the game of social flirtation farther than she anticipated, making their union impossible since the game now overpowers and obscures her true emotion. At the same time, the famous singer Tinti is appearing at la Fenice, and Emilio becomes captivated by her, and she by him. A long scene at la Fenice puts la Tinti on stage singing in Rossini's opera, Mosè, while Massimilla Doni explains the function of the music and lyrics to a French doctor visiting Venice. Emilio, a witness to the musicological explanation, slowly realizes that his attraction to and pleasure with la Tinti represents only an approximation of his love and admiration for Massimilla. In Emilio's eyes, there is a kind of spar between the blessed love of this white soul and the love of the excitable and hotheaded Sicilian
La comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
13 editions published between 1895 and 1898 in English and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Includes t.p. and frontis. from [v. 1], The Wild ass' skin ... and other stories; the introduction and 10 leaves of text; plates from other v. of this ed.; bound in gray cloth with sample spine binding (gray cloth with paper label printed in red and black) mounted inside back cover
The lily of the valley (Le lys dans la vallée) and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( )
12 editions published between 1898 and 2011 in English and held by 95 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The author's favorite of his own works, Lily of the Valley tells the story of Felix, a young man with a dark past always turned away, always unloved. One night at a party, he falls in love with Henriette, who is already married. The morbid romance which ensues is anything but conventional. This volume also includes Another Study of Woman," The Great Breteche," and A Man of Business."
The harlot's progress, The hated son, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
4 editions published in 1899 in English and held by 86 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The poor parents = Les parents pauvres by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 85 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
in English and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The harlot's progress = Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
8 editions published between 1896 and 1926 in English and held by 80 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The lily of the valley by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
8 editions published between 1897 and 1901 in English and held by 70 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The correspondence between a young Frenchman and his fiancee on the subject of love reveals the differences in the two sex's approach to the subject
Muse of the department, A prince of Bohemia, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1899 in English and held by 50 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
César Birotteau, Béatrix, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
2 editions published in 1899 in English and held by 39 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A father's curse, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1898 in English and held by 38 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Beatrix by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
6 editions published between 1896 and 1901 in English and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
5 editions published between 1846 and 1998 in English and held by 29 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette
Scenes from a courtesan's life = Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes ; and, the government clerks by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
5 editions published in 1901 in English and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cousin Betty ; Cousin Pons, and, other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1890 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Maitre Cornelius and other short novels by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published between 2006 and 2009 in English and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Scenes from a courtesan's life : the government clerks by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1901 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.10 for Maitre Cor ... to 0.66 for La comédi ...)
Alternative Names
Languages
English (111)
Covers