WorldCat Identities

Waring, James

Overview
Works: 19 works in 139 publications in 1 language and 11,462 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Bildungsromans  Domestic fiction  Short stories, French  Romance fiction  Biographical fiction  Historical fiction  Novels  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Translator, Choreographer
Classifications: PQ2168, 843.7
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about James Waring
 
Most widely held works by James Waring
Le lys dans la vallée by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

25 editions published between 1897 and 2011 in English and held by 161 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The author's favorite of his own works, Lily of the Valley tells the story of Felix, a young man with a dark past always turned away, always unloved. One night at a party, he falls in love with Henriette, who is already married. The morbid romance which ensues is anything but conventional. This volume also includes Another Study of Woman," The Great Breteche," and A Man of Business."
The human comedy : selected stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

8 editions published between 1895 and 1897 in English and held by 99 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"We think of Honore Balzac as the author of long and fully upholstered novels, stitched together into the magnificent visionary document called The Human Comedy. Yet along with the full-length fiction within The Human Comedy stand many shorter works, andit's here that we get some of his most daring explorations of crime, sexuality, and artistic creation. As Marcel Proust noted, it is in these tales that we detect, under the surface, the mysterious circulation of blood and desire. All are newly translated by three outstanding translators who restore the freshness of Balzac's vivid and highly colored prose"--
Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

43 editions published between 1846 and 2012 in English and Undetermined and held by 95 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette
Cousin Betty ; Cousin Pons, and, other stories by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published between 1890 and 1899 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Beatrix by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

9 editions published between 1896 and 1901 in English and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Bǎtrix is an 1839 novel by French author Honor ̌de Balzac (1799-1850) and included in the Scn̈es de la vie privě section of his novel sequence La Comďie humaine. It first appeared in the periodical Le Sic̈le in August 1839, and appeared in volume form the same year. Balzac based the characters in this novel on real figures: Fľicit ̌des Touches, a celebrated musician and writer, is based on George Sand. Bǎtrix de Rochefide is based on Marie d'Agoult (who wrote under the pen name of Daniel Stern); Gennaro Conti is based on Franz Liszt; Claude Vignon is based on Gustave Planche
The Chouans by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published between 1898 and 1901 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Part of his Human Comedy sequence, the story follows the love of Marie de Verneuil of the aristocracy and the royalist Alphonse de Montauran"--Provided by publisher
Père Goriot by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

7 editions published in 1901 in English and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

At the shabby boarding house in the rue Neuve-Sainte-Geneviève, petty Madame Vauquer and her tenants wonder at the plight of the aging resident Goriot. Once a well-heeled merchant, Goriot was--at first--afforded special treatment from the Madame. But now something is clearly amiss in his financial affairs, and his increasingly tawdry appearance makes him a subject of ridicule in the household. Some think he lost in the markets, others see him as a lecherous patron of prostitutes, but one thing is clear: his selflessness and complete devotion to his two daughters
A harlot high and low (Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

8 editions published between 1838 and 2014 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem finally to have caught up with him. Will he be able to pull off the labyrinthine scheme cooked up to secure his freedom?
Béatrix ; and, the purse (La bourse) by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

4 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The house of Nucingen ; The secrets of la Princesse de Cadignan ; The involuntary comedians ; Sarrasine ; Facino Cane ; A man of business by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

10 editions published between 1837 and 2014 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One of the key themes that is woven throughout Balzac's masterpiece, The Human Comedy, relates to the dangers of materialism and greed. In this novella, the narrator overhears some fellow diners discussing a complicated financial scheme that contributed to the fortunes of one of the wealthiest families in the country. The story also provides important background information about many characters who appear elsewhere in The Human Comedy
Muse of the department ; and, Les Employ'es by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

3 editions published between 1899 and 1900 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

La muse du département by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

7 editions published between 1999 and 2000 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Louis Lambert by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Veering away from his realism and plot based novels comes Louis Lambert. Containing real elements from De Balzac's childhood critics have suggested it should be classed as a fictionalized autobiography. However De Balzac himself proclaimed the plot was merely a platform for the metaphysical and philosophical ideas of the main boy-genius protagonist. The author regularly declared himself to be a genius. Many agree he used Louis Lambert to explore the problems and difficulties that arise within society from the perspective of a genius. Any readers who have become fans of De Balzac and wish to further explore his musings and personal thoughts should definitely read this
[Jimmy Waring work tape #3] : camera feed single #1( Visual )

1 edition published in 1976 and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

[Jimmy Waring work tape #2]( Visual )

1 edition published in 1976 and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The poor parents = Les parents pauvres by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Living Theatre designs by N.Y.) Living Theatre (New York( Visual )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Mostly color and black and white costume designs, set designs and sketches for productions (1948-1967) by the Living Theatre, many by founders Julian Beck and Judith Malina
Poor relations : Cousin Pons by Honoré de Balzac( )

2 editions published between 1846 and 2014 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This diptych is part of Honore de Balzac's epic masterpiece, The Human Comedy. It comprises two stories, Cousin Betty and Cousin Pons, each of which delve deeply into complicated family dynamics and the long-lasting impact of seemingly trivial conflicts
Gambara by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

2 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novella Gambara is part of the Philosophical Studies section of Honore de Balzac's The Human Comedy. It follows a tumultuous relationship between Italian nobleman Andrea Marcosini and the beautiful, young Marianna. She happens to be married to a mercurial, much older composer, who some believe is a genius and others regard as an abject failure
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.33 (from 0.02 for The poor p ... to 0.83 for [Jimmy War ...)

Cousin Bette
Alternative Names
Languages
English (135)

Covers
Louis Lambert