WorldCat Identities

Waring, James

Overview
Works: 28 works in 147 publications in 1 language and 6,213 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Love stories  Records and correspondence  Allegories  History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Biography 
Roles: Translator
Classifications: PQ2161, 843.7
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  James Waring Publications about James Waring
Publications by  James Waring Publications by James Waring
posthumous Publications by James Waring, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about James Waring
 
Most widely held works by James Waring
Cousin Betty by Honoré de Balzac ( )
27 editions published between 1890 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,323 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Classic French novel
The muse of the department by Honoré de Balzac ( )
in English and held by 1,247 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Massimilla Doni by Honoré de Balzac ( )
in English and held by 1,245 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In Massimilla Doni, Balzac tells the story of the conflict between ideal and real love. Emilio Memmi loves the duchesse de Cataneo (Missimilla Doni), who has taken the game of social flirtation farther than she anticipated, making their union impossible since the game now overpowers and obscures her true emotion. At the same time, the famous singer Tinti is appearing at la Fenice, and Emilio becomes captivated by her, and she by him. A long scene at la Fenice puts la Tinti on stage singing in Rossini's opera, Mosè, while Massimilla Doni explains the function of the music and lyrics to a French doctor visiting Venice. Emilio, a witness to the musicological explanation, slowly realizes that his attraction to and pleasure with la Tinti represents only an approximation of his love and admiration for Massimilla. In Emilio's eyes, there is a kind of spar between the blessed love of this white soul and the love of the excitable and hotheaded Sicilian
The firm of Nucingen by Honoré de Balzac ( )
5 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 1,244 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cousin Bette by Honoré de Balzac ( )
6 editions published between 1846 and 2012 in English and held by 190 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette
The harlot's progress = Splendeurs et misères des courtisanes, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
15 editions published between 1896 and 1926 in English and held by 176 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
La comédie humaine by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
15 editions published between 1895 and 1898 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Includes t.p. and frontis. from [v. 1], The Wild ass' skin ... and other stories; the introduction and 10 leaves of text; plates from other v. of this ed.; bound in gray cloth with sample spine binding (gray cloth with paper label printed in red and black) mounted inside back cover
The lily of the valley by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
19 editions published between 1897 and 1901 in English and held by 105 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The correspondence between a young Frenchman and his fiancee on the subject of love reveals the differences in the two sex's approach to the subject
The poor parents = Les parents pauvres by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published between 1898 and 1900 in English and held by 87 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The novels of Balzac by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
in English and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The lily of the valley and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( )
1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 72 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The author's favorite of his own works, Lily of the Valley tells the story of Felix, a young man with a dark past always turned away, always unloved. One night at a party, he falls in love with Henriette, who is already married. The morbid romance which ensues is anything but conventional. This volume also includes Another Study of Woman," The Great Breteche," and A Man of Business."
Muse of the department, A prince of Bohemia, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1899 in English and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Scenes from a courtesan's life : the government clerks by Honoré de Balzac ( )
8 editions published between 1838 and 2014 in English and held by 41 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem finally to have caught up with him. Will he be able to pull off the labyrinthine scheme cooked up to secure his freedom?
A father's curse, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published between 1898 and 1899 in English and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
César Birotteau, Béatrix, and other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
2 editions published in 1899 in English and held by 38 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Beatrix by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
6 editions published between 1896 and 1901 in English and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Honore de Balzac excelled at creating unforgettable characters, but most of his creations were works of pure fiction. Many critics have asserted that the novel Beatrix is a roman a clef depicting the life of the French memoirist George Sand, as well as the larger cultural shift from an era of genteel aristocracy and class stratification to a more democratic way of living
Cousin Betty ; Cousin Pons, and, other stories by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
1 edition published in 1890 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The Gondreville mystery = (Une ténébreuse affaire) : The muse of the department by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published in 1901 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Maitre Cornelius and other short novels by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
3 editions published between 2006 and 2009 in English and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Louis Lambert by Honoré de Balzac ( Book )
2 editions published between 2002 and 2004 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The story of Louis Lambert, an isolated, sensitive, boy-genius who is discovered and sent to Collège Vendôme where he bonds with his only friend over discussions of philosophy and mysticism. While his friend is forced to leave school due to illness, Louis continues and graduated in 1815 at the age of eighteen. While living in Paris for three years, and later after returning to his uncle's home in Blois, he writes letters to his friend, continuing their discussions, and describing how his life has continued
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.10 for The lily o ... to 0.70 for A father's ...)
Alternative Names
Languages
English (131)
Covers