WorldCat Identities

Mahony, Nora

Overview
Works: 8 works in 17 publications in 1 language and 851 library holdings
Genres: Comic books, strips, etc  Graphic novels  Fiction  Psychological fiction  History  Thrillers (Fiction)  Comics (Graphic works)  Underground comic books, strips, etc 
Roles: Translator
Classifications: PN6790.B43, 745.1
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Nora Mahony
When David lost his voice by Judith Vanistendael( Book )

2 editions published in 2012 in English and held by 324 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The moment his granddaughter Louise is born, David learns that he has cancer. He would rather keep quiet about his illness, the pain and the end that awaits him-- much to the frustration of the women in his life. They wait, powerless, for the silent but inexorable end"--Page 4 of cover
The stone boy by Sophie Loubière( Book )

6 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 190 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When the elderly Madame Preau returns to her own house after several years spent in a convalescent home, she immediately notices that the neighbourhood has changed. A new family has moved in next door and, from her window, she watches their three children playing in the garden after school. Two of the children seem perfectly healthy, but Madame Preau is struck by the third child, who seems listless and stands apart from the others. When she reports this to social services, they refuse to believe her. Cut off some years ago from her own grandson, she begins a mission to help this boy, even when those around her start to fear for her sanity. The Stone Boy is an award-winning and darkly atmospheric psychological thriller from a critically acclaimed French author. Packed with shocking twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Barbara Vine and Erin Kelly, Madame Preau's story will hold you entranced until the very last page
Black paths by David B.( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 180 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"1919 -- the defeated Austro-Hungarian Empire is losing control of the city port of Fiume to pirates. A self-styled Pirate King, Gabriele d'Annunzio (poet, Italian war hero and Dadaist) storms the city with 3000 loyal Italian footsoldiers. He declares Fiume a free Republic: a utopian city-state, with himself as Commander. The city soon descends into looting and surreal decadence, reminiscent of the last days of Rome. Amid this chaos, the beautiful Mina, a black-haired young singer, is lost in this city gone mad, consumed by a love affair with a young soldier. Haunted by the horror of the trenches, a soldier, Lauriano, hunts Fiume's alleys in vain for the ghost that haunts his dreams"--Publisher's web site
Sand castle by Frederik Peeters( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 144 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Early morning on a perfect summer's day, people begin to descend on an idyllic, secluded beach. Amongst their number, a family, a young couple, a refugee and some American tourists. Its fine white sand is fringed with rock pools filled with crystal clear water. The beach is sheltered from prying eyes by green-fringed cliffs that soar around the cove. But this utopia keeps a dark secret. A woman's body is found floating in the waters, which brings these thirteen strangers together to try and unravel the riddle of the sands and escape the beach alive in this tense, fantastical mystery."--Publisher description
Rebetiko by David Prudhomme( Book )

2 editions published in 2012 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Athens, 1936. General Metaxas is cracking down on rebetis and their way of life. A small group of friends - Rebetiko musicians - wind their way through the Athenian backstreets, ouzeris and market squares dodging the police while settling disputes over hashish and women. With music at its heart, the narrative builds to a joyous party at its climax in this multi-award-winning graphic novel"--Publisher description
John Holten : the Readymades by John Holten( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Kiki de Montparnasse by Catel( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the bohemian and brilliant Montparnasse of the 1920s, Kiki escaped poverty to become one of the most charismatic figures of the avant-garde years between the wars. Partner to Man Ray, she would be immortalised by many artists. The muse of a generation, she was one of the first emancipated women of the 20th century"--Provided by publisher
Hudden and Dudden and Donal O'Leary : and How Cormac Mac Art went to Faery( Recording )

in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.41 (from 0.32 for Black path ... to 1.00 for Hudden and ...)

Black paths
Covers
Kiki de Montparnasse
Languages
English (17)