WorldCat Identities

George McKibbin and Son

Overview
Works: 20 works in 21 publications in 1 language and 3,765 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  History  Juvenile works  Fantasy fiction  Historical fiction  Action and adventure fiction  Drama  Poetry  Adventure stories  Tragedies (Drama) 
Roles: Binder
Classifications: PS3201, FIC
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by George McKibbin and Son
Currier and Ives' America : a panorama of the mid-nineteenth century scene by Currier & Ives( Book )

1 edition published in 1952 in English and held by 1,228 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This book contains Currier and Ives prints produced by a method known as lithography
December night : a scene from Willa Cather's novel "Death comes for the archbishop." by Willa Cather( Book )

1 edition published in 1933 in English and held by 269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym by Edgar Allan Poe( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 195 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The work relates the tale of the young Arthur Gordon Pym, who stows away aboard a whaling ship called the Grampus. Various adventures and misadventures befall Pym, including shipwreck, mutiny, and cannibalism, before he is saved by the crew of the Jane Guy. Aboard this vessel, Pym and a sailor named Dirk Peters continue their adventures further south. Docking on land, they encounter hostile black-skinned natives before escaping back to the ocean. The novel ends abruptly as Pym and Peters continue towards the South Pole
The cloister and the hearth by Charles Reade( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 155 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Set in the 15th century, it relates the story revolving about the travels of a young scribe and illuminator, Gerard Eliassoen, through several European countries. Its main theme is the struggle between man's obligations to family and to Church
Leaves of grass by Walt Whitman( Book )

1 edition published in 1929 in English and held by 150 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Collected writings of Walt Whitman
The last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 145 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The tale of a Mohican brave's struggle to protect two English girls from an evil Huron
Undine by Friedrich Heinrich Karl La Motte-Fouqué( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 137 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Metamorphoses by Apuleius( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 135 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"With accuracy, wit, and intelligence, this remarkable new translation of The Golden Ass breathes new life into Apuleius's classic work. Sarah Ruden, a lyric poet as well as a highly respected translator, skillfully duplicates the verbal high jinks of Apuleius's ever-popular novel. It tells the story of Lucius, a curious and silly young man, who is turned into a donkey when he meddles with witchcraft. Doomed to wander from region to region and mistreated by a series of deporable owners, Lucius at last is restored to human form with the help of the goddess Isis. In a translation that is the most faithful and the most entertaining to date, Ruden reveals to modern readers the vivid, farcical ingenuity of Apuleius's style."--Inside jacket flap
Droll stories : thirty tales by Honoré de Balzac( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These choice selections from Droll Stories offer a lively and lusty portrait of 16th-century French life and manners. Told in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais, they were claimed by the author to have originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Abounding in episodes of good-humored licentiousness, the tales scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers"--
Rip Van Winkle : a posthumous writing of Diedrich Knickerbocker by Washington Irving( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A man who sleeps for twenty years in the Catskill Mountains wakes to a much-changed world
South wind by Norman Douglas( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 129 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Explores the pleasures of the hedonistic life. Set on the fictional island of Nepenthe (another depiction of Capri), South Wind tells the very loosely developed story of Thomas Heard, Bishop of Bambopo, during the season of the sirocco (south wind), which considerably affects the attitudes and behavior of the islanders. He encounters people holding various unorthodox views on moral and sexual questions
The Decameron of Giovanni Boccaccio by Giovanni Boccaccio( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 127 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

An account of the 1915 sinking of the Lusitania offers a portrait of early twentieth-century maritime history and the terrible impact of the disaster on the course of World War I
Tartarin of Tarascon by Alphonse Daudet( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 124 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Selected poems by Elizabeth Bridges Daryush( Book )

1 edition published in 1948 in English and held by 123 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Alice's adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 118 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A little girl falls down a rabbit hole and discovers a world of nonsensical and amusing characters
Faust : a tragedy : backgrounds and sources, the author on the drama, contemporary reactions, modern criticism by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 117 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This edition includes Parts I and II complete. The backgrounds include the medieval Chapbook, the puppet play, and a surviving fragment of G.E. Lessing's Faust play. The author's plans and sketches, and a rich selection of his letters and comments to Eckermann, trace Goethe's lifelong involvement in the work, as does an analytical table showing the phases of composition. The contemporary reactions show how rapidly Faust came to be seen as a quintessential expression of German Romantic consciousness. The essays have been chosen to help readers perceive and understand Faust's extraordinary thematic and formal complexity--Cover
Tom Jones : the history of a foundling by Henry Fielding( Book )

2 editions published in 1931 in English and held by 115 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fielding's classic novel chronicles the adventures of Tom Jones, who was abandoned as an infant and grows into a lusty, imprudent young man. Promising to mend his ways, Tom competes with an abusive rival for the affections of a wealthy squire's daughter, and eventually learns the truth about his identity
Through the looking-glass and what Alice found there by Lewis Carroll( Book )

1 edition published in 1935 in English and held by 113 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this companion to Alice in Wonderland, Alice goes through the mirror to find a strange world where curious adventures await her
Two mediaeval tales by Robert Louis Stevenson( Book )

1 edition published in 1930 in English and held by 104 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Publisher description: Research in the field of personality psychology has culminated in a radical departure. The result is Personality Psychology: Recent Trends and Emerging Directions. Drs. Buss and Cantor have compiled the innovative research of twenty-five young, outstanding personality psychologists to represent the recent expansion of issues in the fields. Advances in assessment have brought about more powerful methods and the explanatory tools for extending personality psychology beyond its traditional reaches into the areas of cognitive psychology, evolutionary biology, and sociology. This volume represents a significant landmark in the psychology of personality
The three musketeers by Alexandre Dumas( Book )

1 edition published in 1932 in English and held by 18 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Three great swordsmen, Porthos, Aramis, Anthos, with their protege, D'Artagnan, match wits with the sinister Cardinal Richelieu who seeks to divide the royalty in his own quest for power
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.35 (from 0.20 for Currier an ... to 0.53 for Rip Van Wi ...)

Alternative Names
George McKibbin & Son

Languages
English (21)