WorldCat Identities

Collis, Stephen 1965-

Overview
Works: 35 works in 79 publications in 1 language and 2,251 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  Poetry  History 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PR9199.4.C65, C811.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Stephen Collis
Reading Duncan reading : Robert Duncan and the poetics of derivation by Stephen Collis( )

8 editions published in 2012 in English and held by 1,040 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In Reading Duncan Reading, thirteen scholars and poets examine, first, what and how the American poet Robert Duncan read and, perforce, what and how he wrote. Harold Bloom wrote of the searing anxiety of influence writers experience as they grapple with the burden of being original, but for Duncan this was another matter altogether. Indeed, according to Stephen Collis, "No other poet has so openly expressed his admiration for and gratitude toward his predecessors." Part one emphasizes Duncan's acts of reading, tracing a variety of his deriva
Through words of others : Susan Howe and anarcho-scholasticism by Stephen Collis( Book )

4 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 227 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Phyllis Webb and the common good : poetry, anarchy, abstraction by Stephen Collis( Book )

7 editions published between 2000 and 2015 in English and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Phyllis Webb and the Common Good: Poetry /Anarchy /Abstraction offers a re-contextualizing of Phyllis Webb's poetry within twentieth century discourses of anarchism and abstraction. Stephen Collis explores the ontological conditions and implications of Webb's "poetics of response," suggesting that Webb's poetics is informed by an anarchist's anti-authoritarian stance and insistence on direct experience, in the tradition of self-professed anarchist poets such as Laura Riding and Robert Duncan."--Jacket
Dispatches from the occupation : a history of change by Stephen Collis( Book )

6 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 134 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Somewhere at the core of almost every intellectual discipline is an attempt to explain change -- why and how things change, and how we negotiate these transformations. These are among the most ancient of philosophical questions. In this collection of essays, award-winning poet Stephen Collis investigates how the Occupy movement grapples with these questions as it once again takes up the cause of social, economic and political change. Dispatches from the Occupation opens with a meditation on the Occupy movement and its place in the history of recent social movements. Strategies, tactics and the experiments with participatory democracy and direct action are carefully parsed and explained. How a movement for social, economic and political change emerges, and how it might be sustained, are at the heart of this exploration. Comprising the second section of the book is a series of "dispatches" from the day-to-day unfolding of the occupation in Vancouver's city centre as the author witnessed it -- and participated in it -- first hand: short manifestos, theoretical musings and utopian proposals. The global Occupy movement has only just begun, and as such this book presents an important first report from the frontlines. Finally, Dispatches from the Occupation closes with a reflection on the city of Rome, written in the shadows of the Pantheon (the oldest continually-in-use building in the world). In something of a long prose-poem, Collis traces the trope of Rome as the "eternal (unchanging?) city," from its imperial past (as one of the "cradles of civilization") to the rebirth of Roman republicanism during the French Revolution and the era of modern social movements -- right up to the explosive riots of October 2011. Woven throughout is the story of the idea of change as it moves through intellectual history."--Publisher's website
The commons by Stephen Collis( Book )

7 editions published between 2008 and 2016 in English and held by 112 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries the majority of the English common lands were enclosed, by decree and by force, depriving communities of their independence and self-sufficiency. The resistance to capitalism's "primitive accumulation," registered in recurring peasant revolts and nighttime attacks on hedges and fences, failed to stem the tide of what we now call "privatization"--But it spilled over into Romanticism's own advocacy of a kind of literary commons. Underground in poetry since the nineteenth century, the fight against enclosure resurfaces today amidst continuing accumulation and a renascent sense of the commons under globalization. In The Commons we wander the English countryside with the so-called mad peasant poet John Clare, pick wild fruit with Henry David Thoreau, and comb the Lake District with a host of authors of Romantic guides and tours, undermining William Wordsworth's proprietary claim to the region. Somewhere along the way Robert Frost's wall falls down, the Zapatistas make their appearance, and Gerrard Winstanley reclaims the earth as a "Common Treasury." This second edition includes the essay "Of Blackberries and the Poetic Commons." Stephen Collis is a climate justice activist and a professor of poetry at Simon Fraser University
To the barricades by Stephen Collis( Book )

4 editions published in 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 89 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A poetic record of revolution that traces the lines from nineteenth-century Parisian street barricades to twenty-first-century occupations and street marches
On the material by Stephen Collis( Book )

3 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 75 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The red album by Stephen Collis( Book )

4 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 72 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Borges, Nabakov, and Bolaño, The Red Album is a work of fiction that questions historical authenticity and authority. Divided into two parts, the book begins with an edited and footnoted narrative of dubious origins. In the second part, a section of "documents" (including essays, memoirs, a short play and a filmography) shed light on the first narrative. Familiar characters are revealed to be writers, and the writer and editors of the initial narrative are revealed to be characters. As the ghosts of social revolutions of the past are lifted from the soil in Catalonia, and a new revolution unfolds in South America, the number of mysteriously missing author/characters grows almost as fast as new author/ characters emerge and complicate and scatter the threads of the story.--From publisher
Decomp by Stephen Collis( Book )

1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Once in blockadia by Stephen Collis( Book )

2 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 51 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In this collection of long and serial poems, Stephen Collis returns to the commons, and to his ongoing argument with romantic poet William Wordsworth, to rethink the relationship between human beings and the natural world in the Anthropocene. Collis circumambulates Tar Sands tailings ponds and English lakes and stands in the path of pipelines, where on Burnaby Mountain in 2014 he was sued for $5.6 million by energy giant Kinder Morgan, whose lawyers glossed Collis's writing in court by noting that "underneath the poetry is a description of how the barricade was constructed." Called by Eden Robinson "the most dangerous poet in Canada," in Once in Blockadia Collis is in search of how we can continue to resist as we only begin to understand the extent of our complicity and the depths of the predicament we are in. The bulk of Once in Blockadia is made up of two long sequences evolving from found texts, and two long poems that engage with Wordsworth. The two found texts relate to two blockades Collis was involved in: one blocking the flood of commodities into the Port of Vancouver, and the other blocking the potential flood of oil out of Vancouver. In both cases the poetry and "notes" that follow offer glimpses into the documentary "fact" of events, the resistance behind the blockade, the reasons for them, and the complex of resistant affects driving the events. The two Wordsworthian long poems involve two walks one in the Alberta Tar Sands, and the other in Wordsworth's beloved Grasmere. In the first instance Wordsworthian description is applied to the impossible to aestheticize Tar Sands; in the second, Wordsworth's own beloved home is revealed not as an alternative to the destruction of extraction, but as conditioned, surrounded, and structured by it."--
Anarchive by Stephen Collis( Book )

2 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 50 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mine by Stephen Collis( Book )

2 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Lever by Stephen Collis( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Blackberries by Stephen Collis( Book )

1 edition published in 2005 in English and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Companions & horizons : an anthology of Simon Fraser University poetry( Book )

2 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Computerised maintenance management systems : a survey of performance requirements by Keith Jones( Book )

1 edition published in 1999 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Anima/lung by Stephen Collis( Book )

2 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The poetics of derivation : Robert Duncan and American modernism by Stephen Collis( )

3 editions published between 2000 and 2001 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Poem beginning with the title of a Cy Twombly painting by Stephen Collis( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

New life by Stephen Collis( Book )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.37 (from 0.06 for Reading Du ... to 0.84 for The poetic ...)

Phyllis Webb and the common good : poetry, anarchy, abstraction
Covers
The commonsOn the materialCompanions & horizons : an anthology of Simon Fraser University poetry
Alternative Names
Languages
English (61)