WorldCat Identities

Delogu, Christopher Jon

Overview
Works: 9 works in 20 publications in 2 languages and 925 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Detective and mystery stories  History  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Translator
Classifications: E902, 327.73
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Christopher Jon Delogu Publications about Christopher Jon Delogu
Publications by  Christopher Jon Delogu Publications by Christopher Jon Delogu
Most widely held works by Christopher Jon Delogu
Murder in Byzantium by Julia Kristeva ( Book )
3 editions published between 2005 and 2006 in English and held by 447 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From the Publisher: In this absorbing, suspenseful novel Julia Kristeva combines social satire, medieval history, philosophy, psychoanalytic theory, and autobiography within a gruesome murder mystery. Murder in Byzantium deftly moves from eleventh-century Europe, wracked by the turbulence of the First Crusade, to the sun-dappled, cultural wasteland of present-day Santa Varvara, threatened by religious cults, gangs, and a serial killer on the loose. This killer is murdering members of a dubious religious sect, the New Pantheon, and leaving a mysterious figure eight drawn on their corpses. Meanwhile, Sebastian Chrest-Jones, a noted professor of human migrations, clandestinely writing a novel about the Byzantine princess-historian Anna Comnena, disappears on a quest to learn more about an ancestor who roamed across Europe to Byzantium during the First Crusade. Kristeva's recurring characters, detective Northrop Rilsky and the French journalist Stephanie Delacour, step in and desperately try to piece together the two-part mystery in the midst of their unexpected love affair. In the tradition of Umberto Eco, Susan Sontag, and Ian McEwan, Kristeva skillfully weaves philosophical and critical ideas into her fiction. Peering into the mores, obsessions, and excesses of contemporary society, Kristeva offers an engrossing portrait of Santa Varvara, a paradoxical place of sunshine and pollution where skeletons lurk in the closets of politicians and oil company executives. Her descriptions of the First Crusade and the Byzantine Empire vividly evoke a distant past while speaking to such contemporary concerns as immigration, fundamentalism, terrorism, and the East-West divide. Murder in Byzantiumis also the only work in which Kristeva explores her Bulgarian roots. In the midst of this rich, multilayered historical novel, Kristeva also presents three stunning, closely observed, and interlocking portraits of characters struggling with loss and emptiness in their personal histories and day-to-day lives
Enchantment : the seductress in opera by Jean Starobinski ( Book )
2 editions published in 2008 in French and English and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The metamorphoses of fat : a history of obesity by Georges Vigarello ( )
4 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 114 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
One of the world's top historians of the body, Georges Vigarello maps the evolution of Western ideas about fat and fat people from the Middle Ages to today, paying particular attention to the role of science, fashion, fitness crazes, and public health campaigns in shaping these views. While hefty bodies were once a sign of power, today those who struggle to lose weight are considered poor in character and weak in mind. Vigarello traces the eventual equation of fatness with infirmity and the way we have come to define ourselves and others in terms of body type.Vigarello begins with
Ralph Waldo Emerson une introduction by Christopher Jon Delogu ( Book )
2 editions published in 2006 in French and held by 30 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Reading the fantastic : chance encounters with Shakespeare, Baudelaire, Saussure, and Blanchot by Christopher Jon Delogu ( Book )
3 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The dissertation rethinks the notion of fantasy and the literary genre of the fantastic by witnessing a series of encounters between selected readers and texts usually classed as fantastic. There are three chapters and a conclusion which consider in order : Jacques Derrida on Saussure's "Cours de linguistique générale", Freud, Lacan, and Nicolas Abraham on "Hamler" ; Paul de Man on Baudelaire and lyric poetry ; and Sartre on Blanchot. The dissertation claims that Tzvetan Todorovs "Introduction à la littérature fantastique" marks a turning point in the study of "The Fantastic" by not having as its criteria for what counts as fantastic the presence or absence of certain stock figures or props such as : vampires, ghosts, trapdoors, castles, etc. By defining the fantastic in terms of the effects that the fantastic exerts on the reader and the attitudes that the reader is obliged to adopt while reading a particular fantastic text, we argue that Todorov's approach opens the possibility for studying texts under the rubric of "The Fantastic" which may not have the traditional plots or props, but which do cause similar reading effects. The defining characteristic of "the fantastic" is the reader's hesitation between allegorical and representational interpretations of textual elements or events. The fantastic text suspends the faculty of understanding which under normal circumstances would have no trouble giving a report that would answer journalistic questions such as : who? what? when? where? with whom? and so on. Each chapter witnesses something fantastic that goes on between the reader and the text in each instance of reading
a novel by Julia Kristeva ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
After the empire : the breakdown of the American order by Emmanuel Todd ( Book )
2 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A historian and anthropologist use demographic and economic factors to explain the waning hegemony of the United States
Tocqueville and democracy in the internet age by Christopher Jon Delogu ( )
2 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Tocqueville and Democracy in the Internet Age is an introduction to Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859) and his monumental two-volume study Democracy in America (1835, 1840) that pays particular attention to the critical conversation around Tocqueville and contemporary democracy. It attempts to help us think better about democracy, and also perhaps to live better, in the Internet Age."--Publisher's description
Enchantment by Jean Starobinski ( Book )
1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
 
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.49 (from 0.00 for a novel / ... to 1.00 for Tocquevill ...)
Alternative Names
Delogu C. Jon
Delogu, C. Jon (Christopher Jon)
Delogu, Christopher J.
Delogu, Christopher Jon
Languages
English (17)
French (3)
Covers