WorldCat Identities

Delogu, Christopher Jon

Overview
Works: 14 works in 42 publications in 3 languages and 2,227 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Detective and mystery fiction  Interviews  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Domestic fiction 
Roles: Translator, Author, Thesis advisor
Classifications: PQ2671.R547, 843.914
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Christopher Jon Delogu
Murder in Byzantium by Julia Kristeva( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 418 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

From the Publisher: In this absorbing, suspenseful novel Julia Kristeva combines social satire, medieval history, philosophy, psychoanalytic theory, and autobiography within a gruesome murder mystery. Murder in Byzantium deftly moves from eleventh-century Europe, wracked by the turbulence of the First Crusade, to the sun-dappled, cultural wasteland of present-day Santa Varvara, threatened by religious cults, gangs, and a serial killer on the loose. This killer is murdering members of a dubious religious sect, the New Pantheon, and leaving a mysterious figure eight drawn on their corpses. Meanwhile, Sebastian Chrest-Jones, a noted professor of human migrations, clandestinely writing a novel about the Byzantine princess-historian Anna Comnena, disappears on a quest to learn more about an ancestor who roamed across Europe to Byzantium during the First Crusade. Kristeva's recurring characters, detective Northrop Rilsky and the French journalist Stephanie Delacour, step in and desperately try to piece together the two-part mystery in the midst of their unexpected love affair. In the tradition of Umberto Eco, Susan Sontag, and Ian McEwan, Kristeva skillfully weaves philosophical and critical ideas into her fiction. Peering into the mores, obsessions, and excesses of contemporary society, Kristeva offers an engrossing portrait of Santa Varvara, a paradoxical place of sunshine and pollution where skeletons lurk in the closets of politicians and oil company executives. Her descriptions of the First Crusade and the Byzantine Empire vividly evoke a distant past while speaking to such contemporary concerns as immigration, fundamentalism, terrorism, and the East-West divide. Murder in Byzantiumis also the only work in which Kristeva explores her Bulgarian roots. In the midst of this rich, multilayered historical novel, Kristeva also presents three stunning, closely observed, and interlocking portraits of characters struggling with loss and emptiness in their personal histories and day-to-day lives
Islam, an American religion by Nadia Marzouki( Book )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 342 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The practice of Islam in the United States, spanning more than a century, has a contentious history that has escalated over the past decade. Debates have raged over Islam’s articles of faith, especially within an American context, and its practitioners’ intent. Some characterize these arguments as a clash between a white, evangelical majority and a Muslim minority, or they see it as evidence of the divide between tolerant liberals and close-minded conservatives. Casting this conflict as a generic struggle between us and them, Nadia Marzouki argues, is a gross oversimplification of Islam’s development in America. In Islam: An American Religion, Marzouki investigates how Islam is lived, how it has changed, and how its identity has overlapped with American foreign policy toward the Muslim world. Revisiting the uproar over the construction of mosques, the perceived threat of encroaching Shar’ia law, and the overseas promotion of America’s secular democratic traditions, Marzouki finds that public tensions over Islam in the United States reflect more of the West’s ambivalence toward freedom of speech and political culture than the religion’s purported agenda. Her unbiased portrait highlights American Islam’s open outlook, which embodies and advances the core principles of the American political project. -- Provided by publisher
Enchantment : the seductress in opera by Jean Starobinski( Book )

4 editions published in 2008 in 3 languages and held by 321 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

We often look to the theater for spectacle and wonder, but in opera, we find pure enchantment. What is it about the marriage of music and the stage that fills us with such bewilderment and passion? How does the sensual space of opera transport us into the realm of dream? Jean Starobinski considers the allure of several seducers and seductresses from nineteenth-century opera-Monteverdi's Poppea, Handel's Alcina, and Massenet's Manon, among others-and how their stories are woven into the fabric of Western culture. A talented storyteller and renowned critic of literature and music, Starobinski moves from musical analysis and textual exegesis to an investigation of the political, social, and aesthetic scene of Europe at the time. He traces the elements of theater, poetry, painting, sculpture, dance, and music as they occur in operatic performance, and shows how opera's use of narrative genres, especially the fairy tale, in turn influenced many important short stories, novels, and other works. Nineteenth-century romantics were drawn to opera because of their desire to revive a religious vision of the world that the Enlightenment suppressed. Starobinski revisits the experiences of Rousseau, Stendhal, Hoffmann, Balzac, and Nietzsche, major writers who fell for opera's portrayal of "heaven," the loss of one's love, and the task of the artist, whether composer or performer. Starobinski's critical breadth and depth, as well as his eclectic taste and keen observation, echo such great comparative critics as Erich Auerbach, René Wellek, George Steiner, Harold Bloom, and Angus Fletcher. This spellbinding book will enchant not only fans of the opera, but also those who wish to understand the form's enduring heritage in Western culture.--
In search of the lost Orient : an interview by Olivier Roy( Book )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Tocqueville and Democracy in the Internet Age by Christopher Jon Delogu( )

8 editions published in 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 50 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Tocqueville and Democracy in the Internet Age is an introduction to Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859) and his monumental two-volume study Democracy in America (1835, 1840) that pays particular attention to the critical conversation around Tocqueville and contemporary democracy. It attempts to help us think better about democracy, and also perhaps to live better, in the Internet Age
Ralph Waldo Emerson une introduction by Christopher Jon Delogu( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in French and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Reading the fantastic : chance encounters with Shakespeare, Baudelaire, Saussure, and Blanchot by Christopher Jon Delogu( Book )

3 editions published in 1991 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The dissertation rethinks the notion of fantasy and the literary genre of the fantastic by witnessing a series of encounters between selected readers and texts usually classed as fantastic. There are three chapters and a conclusion which consider in order : Jacques Derrida on Saussure's "Cours de linguistique générale", Freud, Lacan, and Nicolas Abraham on "Hamler" ; Paul de Man on Baudelaire and lyric poetry ; and Sartre on Blanchot. The dissertation claims that Tzvetan Todorovs "Introduction à la littérature fantastique" marks a turning point in the study of "The Fantastic" by not having as its criteria for what counts as fantastic the presence or absence of certain stock figures or props such as : vampires, ghosts, trapdoors, castles, etc. By defining the fantastic in terms of the effects that the fantastic exerts on the reader and the attitudes that the reader is obliged to adopt while reading a particular fantastic text, we argue that Todorov's approach opens the possibility for studying texts under the rubric of "The Fantastic" which may not have the traditional plots or props, but which do cause similar reading effects. The defining characteristic of "the fantastic" is the reader's hesitation between allegorical and representational interpretations of textual elements or events. The fantastic text suspends the faculty of understanding which under normal circumstances would have no trouble giving a report that would answer journalistic questions such as : who? what? when? where? with whom? and so on. Each chapter witnesses something fantastic that goes on between the reader and the text in each instance of reading
La parte del diavolo : romanzo by Emmanuelle De Villepin( Book )

1 edition published in 2018 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Three generations of women untangle a complex family story that encompasses the First and Second World Wars, revealing unexpected lessons about marriage and fidelity"--
A novel by Julia Kristeva( Book )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Transcendentalism and the Way to Freedom by Camille Tardy( )

1 edition published in 2016 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Après l'empire. English;After the empire by Emmanuel Todd( Book )

1 edition published in 2003 in French and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

In Search of the Lost Orient by Christopher Jon Delogu( )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.49 (from 0.07 for Après l'e ... to 0.92 for Transcende ...)

Murder in ByzantiumA novel
Alternative Names
Delogu C. Jon

Delogu, C. Jon (Christopher Jon)

Delogu, Christopher Jon

Languages
Covers
Enchantment : the seductress in operaA novelAprès l'empire. English;After the empire