WorldCat Identities

Marsden, William

Overview
Works: 12 works in 56 publications in 3 languages and 1,724 library holdings
Genres: History 
Classifications: HV6439.U5, 364.10660973
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  William Marsden Publications about William Marsden
Publications by  William Marsden Publications by William Marsden
Most widely held works by William Marsden
Angels of death : inside the biker gangs' crime empire by Julian Sher ( Book )
4 editions published between 2006 and 2007 in English and held by 583 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Citing the Hell's Angels' status as one of world's most sophisticated criminal organizations, a profile of its global subculture reveals discoveries made during a major undercover operation that investigated the group's alleged ties to terrorist and drug operations
Angels of death : inside the bikers' global crime empire by William Marsden ( Book )
8 editions published between 2006 and 2007 in English and held by 315 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Takes you on a journey to the criminal heart of the Hell's Angels motorcycle club - the most infamous biker group in the world. This book opens at the darkest moment of the Hell's Angels story, with the beheading of a woman at a chapter meeting. It tells the story of the bikers, their crime empire and the attempt of the police to stop them
Fools rule : inside the failed politics of climate change by William Marsden ( Book )
11 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"This eloquent, rage-inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery, George Monbiot and Bill McKibben - and anyone concerned with the economic and environmental future of our planet. Kyoto, 1997. Montreal, 2005. Copenhagen, 2009. Cancun, 2010. In Fools Rule, Marsden illustrates how inefficient and short-sighted political negotiations have become despite mounting scientific evidence that immediate action is essential to curb the effects of climate change. International climate change summits are now widely monitored events, attended by state leaders and crowded with journalists; yet somehow they have never been less productive. Treaties and action plans are smothered by economic self-interest, diplomatic errors and every nation's hungry scramble for its share of the remaining atmospheric space. Marsden takes us from inside the bungled negotiations at Copenhagen to the melting glaciers and untapped oil reserves of the Arctic; he shows us the paralyzing effect oil and gas companies have on green legal initiatives in the United States, and therefore on any international climate change treaty; and, with wit and penetrating insight, he asks the toughest question - will we be able to change before it's too late?"--Publisher's website
Stupid to the last drop : how Alberta is bringing environmental Armageddon to Canada (and doesn't seem to care) by William Marsden ( Book )
11 editions published between 2007 and 2013 in English and held by 192 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A bestselling investigative journalist takes a tour of the Alberta oil and gas industry, revealing how Canada's richest province is squandering our chance for a sustainable future. In its desperate search for oil and gas riches, Alberta is destroying itself. As the world teeters on the edge of catastrophic climate change, Alberta plunges ahead with uncontrolled development of its fossil fuels, levelling its northern Boreal forest to get at the oil sands, and carpet-bombing its southern half with tens of thousands of gas wells. In so doing, it is running out of water, destroying its range land, wiping out its forests and wildlife and spewing huge amounts of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, adding to global warming at a rate that is unrivalled in Canada or almost anywhere else in the world. It's digging, drilling and blasting its way to oblivion, becoming the ultimate symbol of Canada's ' and the world's ' pathological will to self-destruct. Nowhere has the world seen such colossal environmental destruction as is being wreaked on Alberta. At one point the province even went so far as to consider a scientist's idea of nuking its underbelly to get at the tar sands. Stupid to the Last Drop looks at the increasingly violent geopolitical forces that are gathering as the world's gas and oil dwindle and the Age of Oil begins its inevitable slide towards oblivion. As Canadians deplete their energy reserves, selling them off to Americans at bargain-basement prices, no thought is given to conservation or the long-term needs of the nation. In this powerful polemic, William Marsden journeys across the heart of a province seized by the destructive forces of greed, power and the energy business, and envisions a very bleak future. From the Hardcover edition
The road to Hell : how the biker gangs are conquering Canada by Julian Sher ( Book )
7 editions published between 2003 and 2010 in English and held by 163 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From Halifax to Vancouver, from strip bars to the nation's ports, the Hells Angels have become the most powerful criminal organisation in Canada. Using police files, wiretaps, surveillance tapes and eyewitness accounts, the Road To Hell reveals how the bikers fought their bloody way to the top of the crime world. It chronicles the life and death of Dany Kane, a tortured soul who rose through the ranks of Hells Angels and became the police force's most formidable weapon in the war against bikers
Helse engelen by William Marsden ( Book )
3 editions published between 2006 and 2008 in Dutch and held by 92 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Onderzoek van twee Canadese journalisten naar de criminele wereldwijde praktijken van de gevreesde motorbende Hells Angels
Angels of death : inside the bikers' empire of crime by William Marsden ( Book )
3 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 26 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
La route des Hells : comment les motards ont bâti leur empire by Julian Sher ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in French and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Les anges de la mort : voyage au coeur de l'empire criminel des motards by Marsden William ( Book )
2 editions published in 2006 in French and English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Inside the bikers' global crime empire by William Marsden ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A terrifying journey into the criminal heart of the Hell's Angels motorcycle club - the most infamous biker group in the world
Stupid to the last drop how Alberta is bringing environmental Armageddon to Canada (and doesn't seem to care) by William Marsden ( Recording )
4 editions published between 2007 and 2010 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In its search for oil and gas riches, Alberta is plunging ahead with uncontrolled development of its fossil fuels, levelling its northern Boreal forest to get at the oil sands, and filling its southern half with tens of thousands of gas wells. In so doing, it is running out of water, destroying its range land, wiping out its forests and wildlife and spewing huge amounts of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere
Cutting edge dead in the water ( Visual )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
With less than 1% of the world's surface or below-ground freshwater accessible for human use, water is fast becoming one of our most sought-after resources. In many parts of the world, water is a saleable commodity - sold to the highest bidder. The documentary explains how private corporations, using money provided by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, are buying water rights from governments and then installing water meters to monitor and charge people for every drop they use
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.24 (from 0.00 for Inside the ... to 0.53 for La route d ...)
Languages
English (51)
Dutch (3)
French (2)
Covers